Getting It Done

The days are winding down. It’s seems like Opening Day was just yesterday. But the final game of the regular season is just a few days away. Will there be postseason for the Dodgers or should we just say good bye Sunday. These final games will decide that.

Monday’s game was like a dream. The Dodgers had beat the Rockies resoundingly with a score of 8-2. We Dodger fans had our fingers crossed that Tuesday would be the same.

It was Matt Kemp bobblehead day. Who would have thought that Matt Kemp would have a bobblehead let alone even be a Dodger? He had been acquired in trade with every intent to trade him again. But here he was, popular as ever, with his own bobblehead. The stadium was packed; they had run out of bobbleheads. My friend Norma was stuck in traffic and didn’t get one so I gave her mine. Everyone was trying to get into the stadium.

I was unhappy at the line at the gate. Typical bobblehead day.

Bobblehead giveaway days bring out the worst fans. Many come just to get extra bobbleheads to sell on EBay. The crowd watching batting practice was relentless asking for balls and autographs. Very few players even looked at those “fans.” I just sat in one of the seats just to wait it out until I could go into the club to eat. By the time we could go toward the dugout, the guys had already gone into the clubhouse anyway.

I love the food in the club so going up to the club early gave me more time to eat. The food was delicious. I always like anything with macaroni and the Italian chopped salad was wonderful. The chicken was served with sweet Chile syrup which gave it a nice kick.

I hurried back to the field because I knew it would get crowded quickly and I needed to get my spot.

Gavin Lux was being interviewed. He was chosen Branch Rickey player of the year. Such a nice guy.

There goes Clayton, our SP for the game. I was hoping he gets run support. Austin already was in the bullpen. I was wearing Austin’s jersey since he was starting. I was wearing Matt’s player weekend jersey underneath.

Surprise!! Look who was already waiting…He used to be barely my height and now he towers over me.

Austin and Clayton warmed up.

Judy, Matt’s mom was throwing out the first pitch so he gave her a few pointers.

The sky was gorgeous as the guys stretched.

National Anthem. Hi Tim.

And then Judy threw out the first pitch. Great job!!

Proud son

Lots of love to go around.

Here comes Clayton and Austin. I could tell Austin was giving me the side eye as he walked by and knew I was wearing his jersey. Play like a demon, Austin.

And wonderful Manny gave me my own personal photo shoot, throwing slow motion right in front of me. Thanks Manny.

Austin was ready for action

First pitch

This game was important. The Dodgers were 1/2 game up on the Rockies. The atmosphere was like a playoff game. The crowd was electric.

It was nice to see that besides the bobblehead fans, some of my favorite people were at the game too. Always wonderful to see my gorgeous friend Jessica and her cute kids.

Our traditional selfie. They were stuck in traffic and had big problems getting into the parking lot. They missed seeing their favorite Matt Kemp. Next time!!

In the top of the 1st inning, the Rockies were out in order. That was a good sign.

In the bottom of the 1st inning wonderful Manny doubled.

David Freese walked with Manny going to 3rd.

Matt singled with Manny scoring. 1-0.

In the top of the 2nd inning the Rockies were again out in order.

In the bottom of the 2nd inning, Kike walked but was left on base.

In the top of the 3rd inning Garrett Hampson walked. This was the first of many walks for Clayton who seldom walks anyone. A few command issues. Hampson was able to steal 2nd base and score. Charlie Blackmon walked and LeMahieu reached first on a fielding error by Justin. Blackmon went to 3rd on a catching error by Chris Taylor. Two Dodger errors in one inning. Not good in this important game!! Nolan Arenado luckily ground out ending the inning with the Rockies only able to score one run. 1-1. The Dodgers were lucky not more runs were scored by the Rockies. Costly errors.

In the bottom of the 3rd inning Chris Taylor walked but was out at 2nd with Justin hitting hitting a double play. Geez…not Justin’s day.

Manny continued on his single handed tear by hitting a single to left field. Unfortunately he was left on base.

In the top of the 4th inning, Ian Desmond hit a single and then stole 2nd base. Chris Ianetta walked but everyone was left on base when Garrett Hampton ground into a force out. Scary.

In the bottom of the 4th inning the Dodgers were out in order. Huh?

Clayton always seems to allow at least one homerun a game and this game was no exception as Charlie Blackmon hit a solo homerun to center field. 1-2. We were not happy.

Austin was up. I stood up and screamed “Go Austin!!!” as loud as I could. My voice carried across the stadium. I think I saw Austin perk up. I don’t care that everyone stared at me. And he was able to draw a walk. I was in a frenzy. Way to go Austin. It doesn’t matter how you get on base. Just do it.

Clayton was out on a sacrifice bunt with Austin going to 2nd. Good job Clayton.

I would say that the Rockies were scuffling around not happy.

Chris Taylor singled with Austin scoring thanks to an error by Nolan Arenado, very unusual for him. 2-2. Yaaaaaay Austin! That tying run kept the Dodgers in the game.

When Austin scored, of course I was on my feet screaming like there was no tomorrow. Justin singled but was left on base.

In the top of the 6th inning Ian Desmond walked but was left on base.’

In the bottom of the 6th inning, the Dodgers were out in order.

In the top of the 7th inning Garrett Hampton singled. Charlie Blackmon walked. (Oh those walks) but both were left on base.

In the bottom of the 7th inning, Austin was able to get to 1st on a throwing error by Nolan. What? Again? Big smile on my face. Suddenly Austin was replaced by Tim Locastro. Not sure why. Austin can run. Oh well. I knew that Austin would be replaced by Grandal. I thought Austin had done so well during the game and yet he never gets to catch an entire game.

In the top of the 8th inning Maeda struck out all three batters. Wow!

Kenta was on fire.

In the bottom of the 8th inning the Dodgers were out in order. Uh oh.

In the top of the 9th inning Kenley came out to finish the game. Now I’m a big Kenley fan but he hasn’t been the same. Gerardo Parra singled and then stole 2nd base. I was cringing at this point.

A little discussion. Kenley was able to get the final out.

In the bottom of the 9th inning, Cody ground out. Chase Utley came out to pinch hit. Can’t figure out why Chase. Chase struck out. Yasmani hit a fly to left field barely missing a ball over the fence. Inches.

Extra innings. So scary.

In the top of the 10th inning, Scott Alexander came out in relief. I was really sweating. Luckily Charlie Blackmon ground out.

Dylan Floro came out in relief, striking out LeMahieu and Nolan. Luckily it really wasn’t Nolan’s day.

In the bottom of the 10th inning Max lined out.

Then Chris Taylor came out to hit. Chris has suddenly found his swing so we had our fingers crossed. Can he do it?

We were waiting to see what would happen. Then the unbelievable did happen.

He hit a huge walkoff homerun winning the game. 3-2.

The Dodgers couldn’t get out of the dugout fast enough to celebrate. It was a huge win. It was definitely a playoff atmosphere. I hope you get a feeling for how exciting that moment was for us at the game through my pictures.

There goes Chris thinking he was going to get away.

Let’s go get him guys.

It was a huge celebration. If nothing else it broke the Rockies spirit. The Dodgers had won the series no matter what the outcome of Wednesdays game. It was a no -decision for Clayton but he didn’t care because the Dodgers WON the game.

On Wednesday our Walker Buehler 7-5 ERA 2.88 faces Rockie Tyler Anderson 6-9 ERA 4.82. The Dodgers were able to prevail over Rockie ace Kyle Freeland so they will take the challenge of beating Tyler Anderson.

The Dodgers are now 1 1/2 games ahead of the Rockies. In August who would ever have thought that the Dodgers would be number one. I paid for my postseason tickets yesterday. Hopefully I’ll get to use ALL of them.

Thanks for stopping by. So happy to see my favorite family the Washingtons. It sure was the icing on the cake for me. Let’s keep winning!! GO DODGERS!!!

Leave a comment