Sweeping the Rockies

It was a scenario that I would never have imagined last week. The Dodgers swept the Rockies in their final meeting this season on Wednesday. I had hoped for a win but to sweep them was far beyond my expectations.

Wednesday was a gorgeous day. The area in the left field section was already in the shade during early batting practice. That’s always a positive and it also clues us in that summer is turning into fall and that postseason is near.

It also means that baseball season is almost over. I know I’ll miss the food in the club. I couldn’t believe how good the Jack Daniels chicken wings were. The salads were all delicious.

The guys will definitely miss each other as they enjoy the off season with their families.

We’re always making new friends and also enjoying the company of our true blue family

I’ve made friends over the years with many employees. A few were honored for their service of 25+ years. There’s Sweet Lou Johnson.

The setting sun made a gorgeous backdrop for Chris Taylor who is always the first to come to the field to stretch.

What can I say about the magnificent simplicity of Dodger Stadium?

Right at this point my camera ran out of memory. OK then. Walker and Yasmani. Yasmani was all smiles as usual. JK.

The National Anthem sung by the boy who was the main voice on Coco. I still get goose bumps when I hear the Anthem. When my son was deployed, I couldn’t get through it without getting tears in my eyes and a huge lump in my throat.

Walker Buehler our SP for this last game is sure to be our future ace.

Our hero from game two of the series: Chris Taylor signing a ball for a lucky child.

First pitch. And here we go.

It took Walker a little time to warm up but once he did, it was pretty much his game. He had an epic 12 strikeouts, the most in his young career.

In the top of the 1st inning, Charlie Blackmon hit a single into center. Oh no!! And then LeMahieu reached first on a throwing error by Justin. This doesn’t bode well especially with Blackmon going to 3rd. Dahl walked. Ian Desmond singled with LeMahieu and Dahl scoring. 0-2. This inning was lasting way too long. The Rockies were first on the scoreboard. The first inning is always the worst for the Dodgers. I should just go up to the Club and get ice cream after the first pitch. Thankfully Walker was able to get out of the inning with just the 2 runs scored.

In the bottom of the 1st inning, the Dodgers were out in order. Where was the offense?

In the top of the 2nd inning, Iannetta, Anderson and Blackmon all struck out.

And then the Dodgers answered the two Rockies runs with a Matt Kemp blast to left center field.

Maaaaattttt!!!! 1-2.

Yasmani walked but was left on base.

In the top of the 3rd inning, LeMahieu was able to reach first on another Dodger error. Dahl singled with LeMahieu going to 2nd. Arenado and Parra both struck out and Desmond ground out ending the inning.

In the bottom of the 3rd inning the Dodgers were out in order.

In the top of the 4th inning the Rockies were out in order. The game just seemed to go on and on. To top it off, there was fan who kept talking talking talking without even stopping to take a breath. If only he could just pass out from lack of oxygen. I finally got up and went to the Club to get that ice cream before I started screaming.

Sometimes the games are boring. It’s been a long week and I was already tired. Believe me, going to every home game can be exhausting. I work full time as well so I rarely get a day off to just do nothing. My patience was wearing thin.

In the bottom of the 4th inning the Dodgers were out in order. I kept hoping that one of the guys would somehow use the small ball and tie the score so they could be back in the game. Nothing is more frustrating than losing by one freaking run. I wondered if it was against the law to stuff a Dodger dog in that fan’s mouth to SHUT HIM UP.

In the top of the 5th inning Blackmon, LeMahieu, and Dahl were out in order. Is it my imagination or are these three batting over and over?

Usually if the Dodgers are going to start a rally, it will be in the bottom of the 5th inning which makes it extra long. It could be because I go up to the Club AFTER the 5th inning to get my cookies.

Kike hit a single to left field right on cue. Brian Dozier doubled scoring Kike and also tying the score. 2-2. I went up to the Club to get my cookies.

In the top of the 6th inning Parra was hit by a pitch but was left on base after Desmond popped out and McMahon struck out.

In the bottom of the 6th inning Justin walked but was left on base. I knew in my heart that one of these guys would come through.

In the top of the 7th inning Petey Baez came out in relief. The bullpen has actually been pretty awesome the last few weeks so I was confident that they could hold the Rockies to only 2 runs. Ianetta hit a fly to right field Matt who caught it. Ferguson replaced Baez and was able to strike out Tapia and force a Blackmon ground out.

In the bottom of the 7th inning Joc popped out.

Max Muncy walked.

Yasmani doubled with Max going to 3rd. We all had wondered where Puig was. He had hit 3 homeruns while on the road and since then he had been sitting.

Yasiel has been hitting well and yet he has not been starting. I really don’t under the logic. The Dodgers should use the hot hitters. Does that make sense?

And he hit a 3 run homerun to bring the Dodgers way out in front. 5-2.

It was a joyous celebration. It felt like we had just won a playoff game. We all were on our feet. Yasiel came out for a curtain call.

In the top of the 8th inning Kenta came out in relief replacing Ferguson. Arenado singled. Scott Alexander replaced Kenta and was able to force a Holliday ground out.

In the bottom of the 8th inning, the Dodgers were out in order. The score was still 5-2.

The Rockies were in a muddle. They were heading toward their 3rd straight loss. Not good for them in the final games of the season but good for us. The Rockies have a tough schedule ahead: four games with the D Backs, 4 with the Phillies and 3 with Washington. They can’t even blink or the Dodgers will clinch.

And out came closer Kenley to do the job.

The Dodgers were watching with anticipation and “o” mouths.

Puig who was out in right field was getting a lot of love from the Dodger fans.

Ian Desmond ground out. Rockies challenged the play still scuffling around trying to salvage this last game. Hampson struck out.

And then it was strike two with two out in the top of the 9th inning. The crowd was electric. The Dodgers were on the verge of sweeping the once first place Rockies. Anticipation was in the air.

The guys were all ready to jump over that dugout rail.

Here they come. Ianetta hit a fly to center Cody. And the Dodgers sweep the Rockies.

It seriously was like winning a playoff game!! We were celebrating. These games with the Rockies were important and the Dodgers came through.

Could there ever be too many celebration pictures??

The Dodgers get a well deserved day off on Thursday. I go to work. Never a day of rest for me.

On Friday they begin a 3 game series with the San Diego Padres to end the regular season. Norma invited me to be on the field Saturday so I’m looking forward to it. Sunday is Fan Appreciation Day. And then it’s over. Until. Post. Season.

Our Rich Hill 9-5 ERA 4.02 will face Padre Eric Lauer 5-7 ERA 4.74 on Friday. The Dodgers must not be complacent in these final games. The magic number is “8”.

Thanks for stopping by. I’m starting to feel a little sad that baseball season is ending. Hopefully there will be a long post season with the Dodgers going to the World Series again. Have a nice day off. GO DODGERS!!!!

Leave a comment