World Series Game One

It was the day all of us Dodger fans were waiting for. The Dodgers had played their hearts out all season for this moment. It was Tuesday…game one. Tickets had been going for exhorbitant prices. The seat behind me was selling for $4500. I was amazed there actually was someone sitting there.

I should have been more excited but I was actually in a bad mood. It didn’t help that I had worked until 8:00AM that morning. It was a long, unpleasant 12 hour shift for me. There was a last minute hustle-bustle to end that night so I drove home exhausted. I was waiting for street sweeping so I could move my cars to the other side of the street. It’s always musical cars for me. Someone told me I needed a car-nanny to help me. Of course the street sweeper came later than usual. I was like Pigpen with that cloud of doom over my head.

It was already hot. I was anticipating a steamy hot, sweaty, stinky day. I left the house a little after noon for a game that started after 5.

When I got to the stadium, I saw that the gate where I usually waited was barricaded off. Great. I parked down the street. The sun was already very hot. I sat there with my fan going. Thank you Crystal. That USB fan has saved my life numerous times.

I saw that there were no cars parked up that street so I decided to take a chance and go back to the gate. To my chagrin, there was a line there of cars going almost to the freeway exit. If I was in a bad mood then, I was about ready to have a huge blowout meltdown. I got in line. I always like being first. After all I had left the house 2 hours before the gates were to open.

By the time I got in the stadium, I was not happy. Security had ransacked my purse so I had to fit my wallet back into it. I checked into baseline club as I usually do first. I am a creature of habit so I had to go through my usual routine. I hurried to the closest stand to get my World Series pin. There was already a long line. I got almost to the front when I found out there were no pins. I hurried to the next one. The line was very long. That was true with all the stands. I was really grumpy by then. I went down to the dugout.

You can imagine how happy I felt to see this blocking my view. There was just too much stuff going on. I hate crowds anyway. I decided to go up to the club and stew in my bad mood.

There was an amazing ice display. Seeing all that shrimp put me in a better mood. A delicious shrimp cocktail goes a long way in my book.

It is the World Series. I was trying to get myself in a better mood.

The food was pretty fantastic. Along with the help-yourself shrimp cocktail, there was herb marinated tenderloin with bacon brandy mushroom sauce. The Spanish roasted chicken with saffron rice was delicious. No Dodger dog for me.

My friend Crystal tried to cheer me up but I was having none of it. I told her my World Series pin plight and she gave me her pin. I was embarrassed and tried to give it back. She told me she was trying to make my day better. Do I have the best friends or what. She did ask me where my fan was since I did look a bit hot. My face must have been bright red and my clothes were already plastered to my body. I decided it was time to leave the air conditioned club and make it out to the field. It was the World Series after all. I told myself to get a grip and get going.

The Fox team was blocking my view. All I could hear was Papi! Papi!

Papi was feeling the heat.

There were rumors that Adrian Gonzalez was in Italy but in truth he was in the SportsNet studio as part of the postgame show. Never listen to the media.

Then I heard everyone screaming A-Rod. Geez, can you guess who else was there?

I couldn’t see anything except the backs of the Fox crew. Were there enough of them?

Of course my buddies Norma and Donna were there. Nice shirt, Norma. Nice cup of booze, Donna.

Had to include the required selfie. Mika had no idea I actually was able to sneak in a kind-of pic of her. Hehe. It was 1 hour until game time so the stadium was filling quickly. We all were hot and sweaty but I was in a better mood.

This was my view of the field. Not happy.

But my team had made it to the World Series for the first time since 1988. I had to be happy.

Mika had brought the cutest cookies!!

Clayton came out to stretch and do his usual routine but the media was blocking my view.

Austin has earned the starting catcher job. I love Austin.

Co-MVP of the NLCS Chris Taylor was stretching. I was getting a bit perturbed with everything blocking my view.

I was able to get a few shots but not many. For those of my friends that I growled at, I am very sorry but it wasn’t the best day for me.

It was interesting to watch the Fox television crew fold everything up. One of their carts wouldn’t start so they had to push it off the field. Oh well…!

I shouldn’t have been thinking bad thoughts about them but they were blocking my view. I really didn’t wish this on them. Really.

One of my favorite parts of special events like this is player introductions. Security and media were in my way.

There were the AL champs, the Astros. I don’t dislike the Astros except maybe ex-Dodger Josh Reddick who has badmouthed the Dodgers, his former teammates and Dodger fans. Do you think that Dodger fans are forgiving for that bad talk? Better believe they hold grudges.

The big US flag is exciting to see.

Player introductions: Doc

The players looked so calm.

National Anthem

I can’t believe I actually was able to get this picture!! It really caught the excitement of the crowd.

They came out to stretch one more time. It was starting to feel like a game like any other. Corey even signed for a few lucky fans.

It was appropriate that Jackie Robinson’s widow was there.

The umpires are still looking for Vin. I wonder about their eyesight.

Getting the crowd fired up were the flag runners: Ken Jeong, Rob Lowe and George Lopez.

One of my favorite families

The best pitcher on earth along with possibly the best catcher on earth.

And everyone just has to get in my way.

Wonderful Champ Pederson announced the beginning of the game. Great job Champ.

First pitch by Clayton was a strike of course. The Astros were out in order. The crowd already were on their feet.

In the bottom of the first inning, with the first pitch, first player up Chris Taylor hit a solo homerun. 1-0.

I was sitting by Norma hoping to get better pictures. But do you think that anyone wanted to sit? I went back to my seat. At least I could run to the front to get my shots.

Justin struck out, Cody and Yasiel ground out. End of that memorable first inning.

The Astros were out in order in the top of the first inning.

Kike singled but was left on base.

Astros ace Dallas Keuchel was not having the best day. Yes, you.

Not-fan-favorite Josh Reddick singled but was left on base. Oh well!!

Austin Barnes singled

Expert bunter Clayton hit a sacrifice getting Austin to 2nd base. But both were left on base with Chris Taylor hitting into a double play. Uh oh, no good.

In the top of the 4th inning, to our dismay, Alex Bergman (who is he?) hit a solo homerun. It was the only run allowed by Kershaw who has been allowing homeruns. No walks, just homeruns. 1-1. This tied the game. In the bottom of the 4th inning, the Dodgers were out in order. Huh???

In the top of the 5th inning, the Astros were out in order. Thankfully Reddick struck out. What a pill he is. If he thought the Dodger fans had booed him when he was a Dodger (which I really don’t remember), he caught their displeasure every time he was up.

In the bottom of the 5th inning, Corey singled to center field but was left on base.

In the top of the 6th inning, the Astros were out in order.

I was busy in the club with the World Series cake.

In the bottom of the 6th inning, Chris Taylor walked and then Justin hit a 2 run homerun to center field scoring Chris. 3-1.

In the top of the 7th inning, Altuve finally was able to hit a base hit but was left on base.

In the bottom of the 7th inning, Chris singled which was the hit that took starting pitcher Keuchel out.

In the top of the 8th inning, Brandon Morrow replaced Clayton Kershaw.

The Astros were out in order in the 8th inning.

In the bottom of the 8th inning, the Dodgers were out in order but they were feeling a victory.

Kenley came out in the top of the 9th inning to close the game.

Dodger fans were in a frenzy of course.

With that last out to Yasiel…the Dodgers win the first game. Notice Yasiel’s tongue. Hehe.

And the Dodgers take game one of the World Series. Clayton probably pitched one of the best games of his life, striking out 11 and not walking anyone. They only have 3 more games to win it all. The Astros will send Justin Verlander to the mound. The Dodgers have only lost one game in postseason. They are hot. They are hungry. The Dodger pitchers including the bullpen have been amazing. The key to the wins is the Dodger manager Dave Roberts. He has been very smart in his use of pitchers, not wearing any of them out. They are all fresh with only Brandon Morrow and closer Kenley Jansen being used in game one. I believe in the small ball and raising the pitch count. It is a bit difficult against good pitchers. The Astros have some of the best hitters in baseball so hopefully Rich Hill can contain them.

It will again be very hot in Los Angeles. Dodgers are very good in hot weather. It will be 96 degrees.

Game 2 of the World Series coming up!! It would be nice to see the Dodgers sweep the Astros in the World Series. But then again, we have the best team in baseball!! Go DODGERS!!!

One comment

  1. Karin Derks

    Excellent blog-as ever! I felt your frustration, especially after working a 12 hr shift- then your blocked view, but the boys did win Game 1 and you were there during that moment in time- history in the making! Great job Cat!

Leave a comment