A Disappointing Opening Day

It was a beautiful Thursday for Opening Day. They had fixed the sewage problem that occurred during the last exhibition game against the Angels although the stink was still in the air. We all expected to be celebrating another Opening Day victory as we had the last 7 years. It didn’t happen at all the way we expected.

My main objective was to purchase Opening Day pins for my friends. During the World Series, the pins had sold out quickly so I was unable to buy any. I was already not happy with the way the auto gates had opened at exactly 1pm causing a crush of cars. I had arrived an hour before the gates opened and was parked down the street. Cars that just arrived were able to get through the gates although all of us early arrivers had to wait in the mass of cars on Stadium Way and those coming in off the freeway. It would have been better if the parking patrol had let those of us waiting get through the cones and drive up to the front. It would have been much more organized. Every year there is a problem.

When I did get into the Stadium, I was able to get the pins I wanted and was able to get down to the field by the dugout, one of the few good things that happened that day.

It was great to see usher Joseph in his usual spot.

It will always be my first priority to see my favorite Matt Kemp. Amy was nice enough to give me a Spring Training ball the day before so I had a ball for the players to sign. I hardly ever get autographs but since it was Opening Day, I made an exception. First to sign was Matt.

Then Chris Taylor…a hard-to-get autograph

The last autograph on my ball was Cody’s. Thank you Cody. I may be done for the season now with autographs.

I went up to the club to eat. There was a gorgeous ice sculpture. I was surprised to see that they had moved all the tables from the front of the club except those with high tables and stools along the window. There was only one regular table which I immediately decided was mine.

The food was absolutely delicious for Opening Day. That was probably the best part of an otherwise boring and sad day. The fruit display was amazing.

The chicken and waffles were crunchy and satisfying.

My absolute favorite was the ahi poke edamame helmet cups. I was horrified that some stupid people were dumping the expensive ahi in the garbage just to get the helmet cups. What a waste.

The salads were delicious. There also was a tender Korean beef short ribs and succulent salmon. I was in food heaven. That was a good thing because the game itself was one of the worst I have seen.

Yasmani was catching for Clayton. Yaz has had a brilliant Spring Training. He had the team high number of homeruns at 5. His offense has been stellar.

Clayton made his way down the field to do his usual stretches.

I was excited to see the best deejay ever Dave Styles on the field. He made my day as always.

The great Clayton Kershaw.

A few views of Mr Hernandez. Thank goodness he wasn’t wearing THOSE PANTS!!

And then the traditional player introductions.

Dave

Chris

Corey

Yasiel

Kike

Cody

Matt who happened to get the most love from the fans. We are all glad he is back.

Logie

The National Anthem with a few fireworks

Some pregame with Kirk Gibson, Orel Hershiser and Tommy.

Clayton and Yaz made their way down the field.

Matt looks happy to be back in LA. I know I am!!

The guys came out to warm up a final time.

Nothing is better than seeing friends again.

From year to year, it’s amazing to see how the children have grown.

This is where it all went downhill.

First pitch. What is the usual case scenario when Clayton pitches? Yes….no run support. The Dodgers could not hit. The only hits were from the pitcher and catcher…a base hit from Matt, a few walks. What was going on? What I kept hearing was that this was one game…there are 161 more. Every game is important at the end when they are even counting 1/2 games.

The Giants have some power hitters so of course they balls were being hit and bouncing all over outfield. In the first inning, there were already 2 singles but they were left on base. There was only one run that won the game but the Dodgers had their chances.

Yasiel walked and stole a base but was left on base.

In the 2nd inning, the Giants kept on hitting with a Hunter Pence double and a Brandon Belt single. In the bottom of the 2nd inning Yasmani singled but was left on base.

In the bottom of the 3rd inning, Clayton took matters into his own hands and singled to left field.

But was left on base. Oh well! By then I was already wondering what was going on. So disappointing.

In the 4th inning, Buster Posey walked, Pence singled but everyone was left on base. Clayton was doing in his job. The Dodgers were out in order.

In the bottom of the 5th Joe Panik homered to right field by the foul pole. It barely made it but it was the only score in the game. 0-1. And it was pretty much game over by then. I already knew that the Dodgers were done.

I went up to the club for cookies. No ice cream still. What is going on with that. When the game is a dud, the small pleasures in life are important.

My final thought is why Dave chose to have Joc Pederson pinch hit in the bottom of the 9th with the tying run (Matt) on base. I love Joc to pieces but he is in a definite slump which has lasted all ST. I left when Joc came up to hit so I could beat traffic home. I rarely leave before the game is over, but I weighed the chances of the Dodgers pulling off a victory and I chose to leave.

Tonight is Opening Night. It can’t be any worse than Opening Day. Unfortunately it’s also bobblehead night so I have to prepare for ugly, unpleasant fans and a huge crowd. Hopefully they behave in the club. Our Alex Wood will meet Johnny Cueto. Cueto has not had much luck against our hitters so hopefully it will be a better night. I will definitely wear Alex’s 4th of July jersey for luck.

Thanks everyone for stopping by. Sorry this blog was so brief but I have a hard time writing it when the game is no fun.

GO DODGERS!!!

Leave a comment