When They Came Back to Town

The magic number is 14. The Dodgers can clinch the Western Division by the first part of September. They returned to Dodger Stadium after a phenomenal road trip. It capped an outstanding, record breaking last few weeks.

There are only 8 home games in August which is definitely a sad thing since the Dodgers have done so well. So many fans are not even able to watch the games on television. The Dodgers are gracing the recent edition of the Sports Illustrated cover to highlight the amazing season they are having. They are possibly the best Dodger team ever.

In my opinion the key to this record is a combination of talent and also the cohesiveness of the personalities on the team. They truly like each other. There is a different hero in each game. Many non Dodger fans will say the team is so good because they have the best pitcher in baseball, Clayton Kershaw. But he has been on DL for the last few weeks. They also will lament that the Dodgers have the ROY hands down, Cody Bellinger. But he isn’t the reason for every win either. One game it will be Yasiel getting drenched with Gatorade, the next it will by rookie Kyle Farmer. There are also the quiet unsung heroes including Chris Taylor, Justin Turner, Yasiel Puig, Austin Barnes, Yasmani Grandal. Does any other team in baseball have pitchers like the Dodgers do? Ryu and Maeda had been designated to the bullpen but somehow came up stellar in their last few outings. How do you explain this?

It’s not just the winning that seems to make the team thrive. They are happy even when another teammate is the reason for the win. More often than not, it is a combination of great defensive and offensive plays….a team victory. They are a happy team.

I’ve truly become spoiled. I’m so used to the Dodgers winning, that I’m not sure how to deal with a loss. Of course those bandwagon fans will criticize and say that the pitcher is terrible, the players can’t hit, the defense is taking a break. Grumble grumble grumble. They can’t win every game although it seems that they do. No one can leave the game early because the Dodgers somehow pull off a win, even if it happens in the last inning, the very last out. Those are our Dodgers this season. They have so much heart, so much talent and the desire to win it all. Postseason here we come!!!

Congratulations to Yasiel and gorgeous gf Andrea. They are expecting a baby boy to join cutie Daniel. 

I was excited on Friday because my team was finally back in town again, even if it was just for 3 games. It was a quirky weekend.. Players weekend. The team was wearing Little League jerseys with their nicknames on the back. Some of the nicknames were downright hysterical.

During batting practice, they were just wearing LA tee shirts. I was obsessing over a car insurance problem I was having so I didn’t take many pictures. Sorry. I did get it straightened out but not without a lot of aggravation. That’s been the story of my life the last couple of weeks unfortunately. Stress and misery. At least I have my Dodgers. Thank you guys!!

I liked this pic I took with my phone though.

It was Healthcare Appreciation Day so I picked up my scrub. I was excited to see one of my favorite people, Sammy who is in charge of the special days. The scrub top is nice, very neutral looking. I can’t wear mine to work because our scrubs are dark blue but it is an awesome top.

I really missed the food. The rosemary garlic beef roast was delicious. I enjoyed the Peruvian turkey with green aji sauce and the sweet corn and zucchini casserole. The seafood pasta was an interesting combination of clams, shrimp, calamari and scallops with a robust lemon, white wine and tomato sauce. I waddled out to the field to see what was going on. I was so full. It didn’t prevent me from getting my usual in-seat food though: chili cheese nachos, Caesar salad, Dodger dog, special hot dog, 2 melon cups, 2 diet cokes. Yikes.

It was great to see my friend Jason who has a blog called Dodger Fanatics on FB. He also paints beautiful true to life bobbleheads. Maybe the Dodgers should commission him to make their giveaways. I wonder how long it would take him to paint 40,000 bobbleheads.

I had my eye out for my secret crush Dave Styles. OK, maybe that isn’t so secret.

He was just so faaaaar away!!! Sigh.

I did get a lot of pictures of his back.

I absolutely know he was texting me.

I almost missed Maeken’s walk from dugout to bullpen, I was obsessing about Dave. Hi Will!!

Kenta stretched. Notice Yasmani’s nickname. It actually is his baby’s name…Yaz Jr. who is soon to make an appearance. Stay tuned.

Yasmani….of course he had to look my way to make sure I was there in my usual spot. What’s with this Dave guy anyway??

Kenta stretched including his famous windmill.

Yes…I’m over here Kenta!! I was just distracted for a minute.

He continued with a few warmup pitches.

while Dave continued to ignore me. I know, I know, he’s working.

I love their nicknames. Hehe.

But no player’s nickname was as cute as Logie Bear’s. Yikes….I’m sure his wife was in charge of that.

Corey’s jersey simply said “Seager” because he couldn’t think of anything. His brother Kyle wore “Corey’s brother” which was ironic since Corey was always Kyle’s brother when they were growing up.

Chris Taylor was CT3 of course.

It was nice to see bat girl Amy whose form looks as good as Kenta’ s.

First glimpse of new Dodger Grandyman who is standing next to “Silver Fox”. Chase had given Corey the task of thinking of a nickname.

More nicknames

Hi Yasiel!!

The LA Sparks

Rich Hill signing autographs from the Dugout.

Cody and Alex, both on DL

A guest on the field…Bob Motley, a WWII veteran and the last surviving Negro Leagues umpire. Amazing!!!

Logie Bear came to the fans and signed. What a thrill for the young fans.

Corey also signed and took pictures. I showed him my phone case with his pic and told him to tell Matty, his gf. He’s off the hook.

Maeken taking the traditional walk from bullpen to dugout

First pitch

In the top of the 1st inning, the Brewers were out in order.

The Brewers were sending their top pitchers to the mound to try to stop the Dodgers. This game it was Chase Anderson 7-3 ERA 2.87.

In the bottom of the 1st inning, Justin singled to right field but was left on base.

In the top of the 2nd inning, Santana hit a homerun to right field which was the only hit of the game that Kenta allowed. 0-1

In the bottom of the 2nd inning, El Titan singled to center field.

Wild Horse singled to left field with El Titan going to 2nd. Both were left on base with Kike out on strikes and Kenta grounding out to end the inning.

In the top of the 3rd inning the Brewers were out in order.

Dave did the stealing the base gig and did glance my way.

In the bottom of the 3rd inning, Corey singled.

Redturn2 walked.

It was shades of what happened on the road…the players were left on base with YSG Jr called out on strikes and El Titan grounding out leaving 2 men on base. There were so many men left on base even with bases loaded.

In the top of the 4th inning, Travis Shaw walked, Santana walked but both were left on base. Way to go Maeken!!

In the bottom of the 4th inning, Logie Bear hit a homerun to center field tying the score. 1-1.

In the top of the 5th inning, the Brewers were again out in order.

In the bottom of the 5th inning, Redturn2 walked.

And then stole 2nd base with YSG JR batting.

It was an important steal. YSG JR singled to center field, scoring Redturn2.

2-1, breaking the tie. Dodgers pulled ahead.

In the top of the 6th inning the Brewers were out in order.

In the bottom of the 6th inning Wild Horse hit a homerun to center field. Logie Bear walked. CT3 walked. Corey singled. Logie Bear to 3rd, CT3 to 2nd. Both were left on base with Justin striking out. Oh no…again!!

In the top of the 7th inning Tony Cingrani replaced Maeken. Santana walked but was left on base with a double play.

In the bottom of the 7th inning, the Dodgers were out in order.

In the top of the 8th inning, Josh Ravin replaced Cingrani and struck 3 Brewers out. Great job Josh.

In the bottom of the 8th inning, the Dodgers were out in order.

Some more nicknames.

And Kenleyfornia came in to close the game.

You get a definite thrill when you see Kenley out there. You know how it will end.

On the last out, there was a challenge by the Dodgers. It was an obvious out. It was overturned and the Dodgers won with a score of 3-1.

It was a great game. No heroes except Maeken for the almost perfect game he pitched. The Dodgers got the job done.

On Saturday the Brewers will send another of their top pitchers out, Zach Davies 7-3 ERA 2.65 who is having an outstanding 2nd half of the season. He will face Ross Stripling who will take the place of Alex Wood who is on DL. It will probably be a patchwork pitching game using the bullpen.

I’m hoping to see Grandyman making his first appearance as a Dodger at Dodger Stadium. I also have hopes that I will get a selfie with Yu-San. He has waved to me and said hi each time I’ve seen him so I think I have a chance before the season is over. He has not signed any autographs or taken any pictures since becoming a Dodger.

My buddy Norma won dugout seats yesterday so you will see her in many of my pictures. Your challenge is to see if you can spot her and her friend Donna.

It’s good to have my guys back at Dodger Stadium even if it is for only 3 games before they are back on the road again. Sorry I haven’t been posting but I am tired. The season was catching up with me and my work has been super stressful. I’m hoping to get back in the swing of things again. Thank you everyone for still checking on my blog. You are what makes this blog worth writing. Love you all.

GO DODGERS!! Good to have you back. Missed you so much.

Leave a Reply

