Seventy Wins

The Dodgers are the first team to win 70 games this season. There are still many games left to play. I thought I would point this out because last season there were teams who did not win that many even by the end of the season. The Dodgers seem to be on their way to post season play. The Rockies and the D Backs are both now 12 1/2 games out of first but are still contenders for the wild card. First place in the NL East are the Nationals who have won 59 games and the Brewers in the NL Central with 54 games. It’s pretty much the same in the AL except for the Astros who have won 67 games. In that division, Seattle is the closest but are 17 games out of first and are not really in contention for the wild card.
The Dodgers have a 4 game winning streak. Yesterday they played the Twins and beat them for the 2nd day in a row.
Tuesday was a gorgeous day weather wise. It wasn’t too hot and there weren’t that many fans at early batting practice. It wasn’t a giveaway day. Wednesday will be crowded and unpleasant since it will be Kershaw bobblehead day. I hate bobblehead days.
Every once in a while I meet extra special fans. Tuesday was such a day.
Here’s Anthony with his son. Anthony is a fireman. I totally respect fire fighters for the service they do. They had Cody Bellinger and Corey Seager jerseys. I had my fingers crossed that they could get them signed.
I was touched that Anthony gave me a picture of our all star team. I plan to have it framed.
Here’s Lisa one of my favorite people at Dodger Stadium.
Andre Ethier at the dugout.
Doc hurried through. If anyone wonders how he got his name…his initials are D.R. Get it??
I added a few more autographs to my now crowded hat. Rich Hill is one of them. Try guessing the others. That’s Chris Woodward on the inside.
Speaking of Chris…On Saturday they are having the annual Wives and Significant Others autographed baseball grab bag for charity. Each grab bag is $40. They will be in on each level. Please support this great cause. You’ll be able to meet them. I met Chris’s wife Erin and was able to see Kourtney, Justin’s fiancée again last year. It’s fun and exciting and it is a worthwhile cause.
Time to eat. The food was really spectacular. The tacos were either chicken or beef. The salads included my favorite macaroni salad.
I was happy to see Alianna. There’s Logen totally photobombing us.
Everyone knows that I write my blog at my favorite Starbucks. It’s located in Signal Hill by the Costco. My favorite barista Bee went to a Dodger game on Saturday with her friends. I give her a lot of credit that she actually sat with a Braves fan.
Can you believe that Braves hat??? Someone needs to get these girls some Dodger blue shirts!!
She and her boyfriend had a great time. Luckily she didn’t go on Thursday as planned because that game resulted in their winning streak ending. The game she did go to on Saturday was the start of their 4 game winning streak. Thank you Bee for letting me sit in Starbucks for hours doing my blog.
Back to Dodger Stadium…Kenta was walking down the field with his translator Will.
They both stared at me for a while. I used to think it was my imagination that they were looking at me. What do you think?

And of course Yasmani isn’t looking at me either.
Kenta warmed up with his famous windmill.
Then he threw a few pitches. I wish he would reach out to Yu Darvish of the Astros. There is a rumble that the Dodgers are trying to acquire him. At least Darvish would have someone to talk to and Will could translate for both of them. With Kershaw out, it would be imperative to get another starting pitcher since ours have been going on and off DL with each outing. Brandon McCarthy is on DL with that dreaded blister. Brock Stewart will be making the start on Wednesday instead.
The guys came out to stretch.
And play catch
The National Anthem
It was an exciting moment when we saw Cody signing.
And Anthony was able to get that autograph.
And who would believe that Anthony could be lucky enough to
get Corey’s autograph as well. It is a true saying that good things happen to good people. So happy for you Anthony!!
Kenta threw out his practice ball to a lucky young fan as he walked from bullpen to dugout.
By that time we were excited with anticipation. Kenta Maeda has had good games. I was confident he would do well with the hot Dodger bats backing him up.
Bob Geren the bench coach conferring with the umpires. Little did we know that they would be the cause of an 18 minute delay at the bottom of the 6th inning over batting order and substitutions.
Alianna waited for the Dodgers to take the field.
Kenta prepared himself for the first pitch.
He definitely has to read the cheat notes inside his hat first
And make sure I’m ready with my camera
play with the beanbag
stretch
First pitch
In the top of the 1st inning, the Twins were out in order.
In the bottom of the 1st inning, the Dodgers also were out in order.
In the top of the 2nd inning, the Twins were again out in order with Escobar striking out, Rosario grounding out and Kepler lining out to left field. So far so good.
In the bottom of the 2nd inning, Cody walked. Smart move on Minnesota’s part.
Yasmani ground into a force out with Cody out at 2nd. I know..you did end up on 1st. He was left on base. Talk about the looks he’s sending my way.
In the top of the 3rd inning, Polanco walked. Zack Granite singled scoring Polanco. 0-1. Kills me that the Twins were able to score first. Joe Mauer walked but was left on base. Oh well, just one run. It could have been much worse.
In the bottom of the 3rd inning, Yasiel hit a single to left field. I keep saying that the Dodgers should try for the small ball to get on base.
Kenta hit a sacrifice bunt sending Yasiel to 2nd.
Corey hit a single to left field with Yasiel going to 3rd. Justin was unable to bring anyone in hitting a fly to center. Corey and Yasiel was left on base. I was getting frustrated.
In the top of the 4th inning, Rosario singled to right field but was left on base.
Cody hit a line drive single to right field in the bottom of the 4th inning. The ground balls are working.
With Yasmani batting, Cody stole 2nd base.

Joc Pederson doubled scoring Cody and tying the score. 1-1.

Chase Utley singled to left field.

Yasiel Puig singled on another line drive to right field scoring Joc. 2-1. The Dodgers pulled ahead.
Kenta hit his 2nd sacrifice bunt advancing Chase to 3rd and Yasiel to 2nd.

Chris Taylor hit a line drive double to left field scoring Chase and Yasiel 4-1.
The ground ball line drives are doing the trick.
In the top of the 5th inning there was a challenge on the play to 1st base. Dozier reached 1st on a throwing error. Joe Mauer singled. Escobar singled scoring Dozier. 4-2.
In the bottom of the 5th inning. The Dodgers were out in order with Justin striking out, Bellinger hitting a fly ball out to left field (Guys…ground balls are working), and Yasmani hitting a fly out to left field.
In the top of the 6th inning Maeda was replaced by Luis Avilan. The Twins were out in order. In the bottom of the 6th inning there was that long 18 minute delay. There was a rules check which went all the way to New York. I mean really. None of the fans knew what was going on. I was up in the club waiting for my 7th inning ice cream which was slowly melting.
After the long delay Yasiel singled to left field. Logan singled on a line drive to center scoring Joc who was on base. 5-2. Chris Taylor doubled scoring Logan. 6-2.
In the top of the 7th inning, Josh Ravin who had just come up from minors that day came into the game to close. The Twins were out in order. In the bottom of the 7th inning the Dodgers were also out in order with a comfortable cushion of 6-2.
In the top of the 8th inning, Joe Mauer walked but Escobar hit a line drive out to Yasiel, Sano struck out and Kepler popped out ending the inning.
Sometimes I feel like I’m being watched. Gulp!
Chase hit a single to left field but was left on base.


Always wipe your hands on your pants.
We have to give Josh Ravin credit for a 4 inning save. The Twins were out in order in the 9th inning.
Up and over the rails with the win. Be careful you guys on DL…yes you Adrian, Brandon and Clayton.


It was a fun win..final score 6-2. My blog only crashed 9 times. I am so frustrated.
Thanks again to Starbucks for putting up with me. Thank you Bee.
Wednesday our Brock Stewart 0-0 ERA 0.000 will face Ervin Santana 11-7 ERA 3.26. Brock is Dodgers No. 10 prospect. Good luck Brock. Of course being a rookie, Brock will be on a pitch limit.
Thanks everyone for stopping by. GO DODGERS!!! AYYYY this blog keeps crashing. I don’t dare edit it. Sorry for any typo’s!!

Leave a Reply

