The D Backs Game 2

It was a quiet day.  It was hot as the days have been.  It was the day after the big Fourth of July celebration.  There were 20,000 less fans expected to attend than the day before.  In other words, it was going to be a nice low key day.

The guys were already stretching when I arrived for early batting practice.  They were still wearing the Vote JT shirts.  Everyone is hoping to get Justin Turner the vote to go to Miami for the All Star Game.  I voted as many times as I could.  Justin deserves to be in the All Star Game because he has done well this season so far.  It really does prove my point that this is a popularity contest rather than anything to do with a player’s accomplishments.  It’s the final push to see who will be that final players.  There is a room set up for people to go to.  The perks are that possibly you’ll run into JT himself.  His wonderful girl friend Kourtney has been pretty much camped out there to show her support.  It’s worth it to go just to be able to talk to her.  So far JT is ahead in the voting.
Hi guys.  Yes, I did vote.
Ross Stripling is back up.Here’s the man himself.
I have to include pics of my fave Trayce
Speaking of Trayce…look at what I was able to snag.  It’s his 4th of July hat.  There is writing inside which I’ll keep private. It was definitely game worn.  How lucky I am.
Austin and Belly
Kenley on his knees.  “Please forgive me!!”  He has been signing many many autographs the last two days to make up for the rant he went on blaming the fans that JT didn’t get the vote for the All Star Game.  I know that isn’t what he meant.  He is always nice to the fans.  I’m sure it was taken out of context.  He definitely is a big teddy bear.
Clayton always comes out to the field the same time.  Everything is part of his routine.
Josh Fields at the dugout
The food in the club was delicious as usual.  The Chipotle tri tip was the best.  The Persian chicken with basmati rice was a nice touch.  I like eggplant so I enjoyed the Moroccan honey eggplant.  Before I went back out to the field, I slipped on my Alex Wood jersey.  I usually wear a shirt with the pitcher’s name.  
When I went out to the stands, bat girls Danielle and Alianna were tossing the ball to each other.  I was still trying to figure out what kind of day it was.  There was no particular theme.  The food was middle Eastern.  They were touching on ALS awareness.  
First pitch honors went to pro skate boarder Paul Rodriguez.  What he has to do with anything else going on at the stadium is anyone’s guess.  No wonder it was such an off day.  Everything seemed to be at random.  The kids in the background played the National Anthem.
Both Yasmani and Alex were already down the field, both having taken the shortcut underground.  Alex did his stretching in the bullpen.
Alex threw a few warmup pitches
So did Yasmani.
Chase came out first.  I breathed a sigh of relief.  Now that is part of the routine.  I am like the guys.  I like routine.
Then Logan came out.  He usually is first if Chase doesn’t start.
Corey came out to the field with 3 fingers on his right hand taped.
They eventually all were out on the field stretching.
Justin made a quick appearance and trucked on out.
Corey signed a few balls for the kids.  He was right in front of me and politely said hi.  Corey is great.
Secrets secrets.  Alex Wood is undefeated 9-0 trying for his 10th win.
Preparing for the first pitch is complicated business
Second pitch.  First pitch was blocked by one of the food runners.  My day was just plain weird.
A lopsided moon.  Maybe that was the problem.
It was a pitchers duel between our magnificent Alex Wood who gets no love and Zack Godley.

In the top of the 1st inning, the D Backs were out in order.  

In the bottom of the 1st inning Justin doubled to center field but was left on base.
In the top of the 2nd inning the D Backs were out in order.

Chris Taylor singled to center field.
Yasmani doubled to center field scoring Chris.  1-0.  That would be the only run of the game.  
I could mention every play in the game but seriously, I was a little bored during the game.  Pitchers duels usually are boring.

Pedro Baez replaced Alex in the top of the 8th inning.  I actually was more interested in looking at the players in the dugout.
The D Backs seemed to be perplexed the whole game.  They are sinking further and further into the quagmire of 2nd place.  The Rockies have pretty much disappeared being 7 1/2 games back. The Padres are 20 games back, the Giants 23 games back.
As I said before, sometimes it’s more interesting to look into the dugout.  Watch out guys…it’s Candid Camera.  Good to see Adrian and Scott Kazmir.  Clayton always looks interested in what’s going on during the game.
The guys all ran into the dugout for the bottom of the 8th.  Let’s get this in the can!!
Kenley came in to close the game in the 9th inning.  There was a bit of a scare when Brandon Drury singled with only one out.  We were hoping that it would not be a repeat of the day before.
But Chris Hermann struck out swinging for the last out.
Everyone was happy as they all jumped over the rail, especially Clayton.  He looks like he is ready to open Christmas presents.
Can you tell I love to post the victory pictures?
I think we were all comatose after this sleeper of a game.  For some reason, a game like this makes you more tired than a high scoring game.

Robbie Ray 8-4 ERA 3.06 will be pitching for the D Backs on Thursday against our Rich Hill 5-4 ERA 4.00.  Watch out Dodgers.  Ray is a left hander.  Look for Franklin Gutierrez and Kike Hernandez to be in the lineup if Dave goes again with the usual lineup against left handed pitchers.

Unfortunately Thursday is also Dave Roberts bobblehead day.  That means rude crowds, possibly a sellout.  As I’ve said many times before I hate bobblehead days.  Please keep voting for Justin Turner for the final two in the All Star Game.  #VoteJT.

Thanks for stopping by.  I appreciate all your support.  GO DODGERS!!!!

Leave a Reply

