Freeway Series

Monday and Tuesday were the first two games of the “Freeway Series.”  The first game was forgettable so I just forgot about it.  Please forgive me.  It was a game that I just wanted to turn the page on.  The Dodgers lost 0-4.  Former Dodger Ricky Nolasco returned to Dodger Stadium to totally perplex former teammates.  Why does it seem like former Dodgers do well after being traded?  Rich Hill who went 7 innings for the first time this season, struck out 7 and only allowed 3 runs.  He did not get any run support.  How about JJ and family?  We are trying to convert a certain someone over to the Dodgers side.  I think it’s working.  It helps when someone gives you a ball!!

Tuesday’s game with the Angels started out as a pitchers duel.  Kenta Maeda pitched the best game he’s ever had.  The Dodgers seem to think he is better suited for a middle reliever but with this performance in Tuesday’s game, I’m sure he earned himself another start.  Former Dodger Jesse Chavez also pitched a great game until the 6th inning when everything just seemed to fall apart for him.

I was thrilled that Trayce was back.  I found out that he was starting in right field which made it all the more exciting.  I was wearing his shirt…#21 was emblazoned on the back with his name THOMPSON in bold letters.  I’m sure I was the only one in the stadium wearing  his shirt.  I was hoping that he would remember he promised me a selfie the day before but I doubted that he would with so much going on.

I took a few pictures during batting practice but I was all eyes for Trayce.
Clayton is always fun to watch.
ChaseKenleyThey went through their stretching and shagging balls.  
By the time we were allowed to get closer to the dugout, Trayce had already gone in.  It was a big day for him.  Yasiel and Corey both weren’t on DL but were kept out of the lineup for aches and pains.  Here was Trayce’s chance.  He’d been doing well in minors.  I kept putting the bug in Dave’s ear not to forget Trayce.  And here he was…!  Finally!!  Thank you Dave.

My buddies Norma and Donna had arrived early.
Valerie’s family was on the field….luckies!!  I had asked to be on the field but there was no room.  I had to admit it was pretty crowded.
The players were rushing in for team meeting or to eat or just to relax before the game.
The food was pretty good in the club but I just picked at my food.  I was in a hurry to get back out to the field so I could get my usual picture taking spot.  Sometimes someone will be in my spot which totally ruins my day.
Kenta was in a hurry…his translator Will had trouble keeping up.
His pregame warmup was totally different…unusual for any of the baseball players who always have their set routine.
I was hoping that Kenta didn’t notice I wasn’t wearing his shirt.  He looked right at me.  Uh oh.
He was doing this strange jumping. Yes…his routine was totally different.  He even looked different.  Something about him.
He only threw a few warmup pitches and then went into the bullpen.
Have to make sure the shoes are right first.
Trayce was the first one out of the dugout which must have disrupted Chase’s routine.  Chase is always the first one out.
Chase came onto the field only a few moments later.
Joc and Chris Taylor also came out onto the field to stretch.
But I couldn’t take my eyes off of Trayce.  I’d been waiting all season for him to be brought back up.  The fans were  calling him but he was very focused.  He never even looked at the crowd.  I was losing hope that he would remember me.
The sun had changed position so there were shadows everywhere.  It was starting to get a little cooler.  The day couldn’t have been nicer.  
But the day did become more special.  Trayce finally looked at the crowd and saw me.  
He came right to me and took a selfie with me.  With that Cody fiasco, I took the selfie myself.  I know Trayce doesn’t do many pictures so I wanted to make sure I got a good one.  I have a few pics with him but none are  really nice.  He signed a few more autographs for the kids since they were begging him and then ran away.  I was shaking with excitement.  Life doesn’t get better than this.  He only took one picture and that was with me.    And better yet…he remembered me.
The National Anthem
Those darn pants are never right.
They ran and threw the ball for a while.
Trayce went back into the dugout early.
And Cody signed for the kids.  I was surprised.  He’s been signing a little more often.
Here’s my selfie with Cody.  This is how you do it when you’re chicken.

Here they come.  The excitement is building.
When Trayce took the field, I was beyond excited.  How wonderful he looks in right field.
I almost missed the first pitch.  Yikes.  Go Kenta-San!!!
There was really no score until the 6th inning which made the game pretty boring.  

In the top of the 1st inning, Eric Young singled into right field but was caught stealing at 2nd with a quick throw by Austin to Kike.    Kole Calhoun hit a fly and Yunel Escobar lined out to right field.

In the bottom the 1st inning, the Dodgers were out in order.

In the top of the 2nd inning, the Angels were out in order.

There was a little action in the bottom of the 2nd inning when Cody drew a walk but was caught stealing at 2nd.
In the top of the 3rd inning, the Angels were again out in order.  Kenta Maeda has been amazing.  In the bottom of the 3rd inning, the Dodgers were also out in order.  Could Jesse Chavez be that good?

In the top of the 4th inning, Eric Young singled to 2nd, Yunel Escobar singled but both were left on base.

In the bottom of the 5th inning Chris Taylor hit a double to center field.  The fielder had a problem with the sun in his eyes.
There was a little discussion before they pitched to Cody.
Cody drew a walk.
In the top of the 5th inning, Cliff Pennington hit a double but was left on base.

In the bottom of the 5th inning, Kike walked but was left on base.  No score yet.  The Dodgers have had their chances but no luck yet.  I went up to the club and suddenly there was some action.  That’s usually the case.  Everyone thinks I should stay in the club.

In the top of the 6th inning the Angels were again out in order.

In the bottom of the 6th inning, Chase hit a double to center field.  Logan walked.  The Angles replaced Jesse Chavez with Jose Alvarez.  Maybe that wasn’t such a smart move because Cody singled scoring Chase.  1-0.  First score of the game.  

Then Joc went up to the plate and hit a 3 run homerun scoring Logan and and Cody.  4-0.  That would be enough to win the game.
In the top of the 7th inning the Angels were out in order.  Kenta was still pitching, his longest outing yet this season.

In the bottom of the 7th inning, Jose Alvarez was replaced with Huston Street.  Too little too late.   There was no more scoring on either side.  Final score was 4-0.

It was a good feeling to look at the score board.
The Dodgers pretty much jumped over the railing.  It was an amazing win.  No Corey.  No Puig.  No Justin.
I always love the victory pics.  I post a lot so you can pick out your favorites.
It was a nice victory for Kenta who improved his record to 6-3.  He’s 5-1 in his last 8 starts.  Joc hit his 5th homerun since returning from concussion DL.  He credits hitting instructor Shawn Wooten.  There was also excellent defense in this game especially Kike’s diving catch.  The Dodgers have the best record in baseball for the month of June, 19-6.  The Dodgers have also tied the Astros for most games won, 52.  Former #1 in the Western Division Rockies are now 5 1/2 games back.  The D Backs are keeping up being only 1 1/2 games back.

The Dodgers will drive up the freeway to Angel Stadium to finish up the Freeway series Wednesday.  Hyun-Jin Ryu 3-6 ERA 4.30 will face Angels pitcher Alex Meyer 3-4 ERA 4.20.  I’m back at work or I would have loved to see the remaining games of the series.

It was a great day except for one thing.  When I got home I knew I had to call Triple A to have one of my cars jumped.  The battery was dead and I didn’t have time before the game to take care of it.  Just a little snag in an absolutely perfect day.  Thank you Trayce for being so sweet to me.  That is the reason you are my absolutely  favorite Dodger.

See you next homestand!!!
Thanks everyone for stopping by.  You are what makes this blog worth writing.  Have a great week.  GO DODGERS!!!!

Leave a Reply

