Welcome Back Justin Turner

I admit I started out the day a little grumpy.  I had worked the night before so my mind felt a little cloudy.  I apologize to anyone I ran into during the night because I definitely voiced my opinion about  everything including those who sit in the front row who insist on standing up even though they definitely can see everything.  They block the view so no one can see.  Then to top it off, there was a kid standing waving a big flag.  Grrrrr. He stood up during most of the game.  I was hoping he would get tired and sit down.  No such luck.  I had to delete so many pics because of that flag he kept waving.   Then there are those who get the same autographs over and over from the same players, namely Corey Seager.  They should give others a chance who aren’t at the park that often.  And how about the rude fans in the club who feel entitled.  OK.  Now I’m done.  Poor ushers had to put up with all my ranting.

Speaking of club, the food as usual was delicious.

The carnitas and deep fried turkey were something different.
My friends were waiting at the field for me.  
Bat girls Danielle and Amy.  Speaking of Amy..we won’t see her until July since she will be traveling with her girls, the Southern California choppers, a 14u travel softball team.  Go Choppers.  Let’s support them!!
Amy is their coach.  Can’t think of a cooler coach.
Back to Friday’s game…Kenley was being interviewed by SportsNet.
Austin Barnes and Rich Hill were already down by the bullpen.  They hadn’t taken that traditional walk from dugout to bullpen so everyone could cheer.  I was wearing my Rich Hill tee shirt.  I always happen to be wearing a shirt that the official photographers like.  The TV photographer asked me if I would go down by the bullpen so he could take a picture of my tee shirt by Rich.  I told him I was a little busy and no thank you.  I was kind of a stinker but my blog comes first.
And the bullpen just seemed so far away….!
It was a beautiful day with a few clouds in the sky.  The shadows were just descending on the stadium.  The guys had come out to the field and stretch.
Logan was doing all his extreme stretching.  
No one does those leg kicks better than he does except maybe Clayton.
I thought I wore my sun glasses!
Corey Seager who seems to have been relegated to the back seat when Cody came up.  He still is the same…nice, warm, good to his fans.
He was no different Friday when he was the only one who signed for the fans.
Cody Bellinger rarely even looks at fans
I personally love Chris Taylor who plugs away everyday but gets little adoration from the fans.  I told him he was my favorite.  He has said he doesn’t care what position he plays.  He just wants to be out there playing.  
I was excited to see Justin Turner return from DL.  He always seems to be the impetus of the team.
Listen to those trainers, Justin.
Here comes Austin and Rich.  Meanwhile the photographer is behind me with his camera taking a picture of me taking a picture of Rich.  Huh???
Rich looked as nervous as I felt as he got ready to throw his first pitch to the Reds.
Let’s scrape the shoe off one more time.
And here we go.
In the 1st inning, the Reds were out in order.

In the bottom of the 1st inning, the Dodgers struck first.

My fave Chris Taylor walked.  You know what happens when a player walks especially if Justin is up in that inning..
His first up after returning from DL was a 2 run homerun to left field scoring Chris.  2-0.  We were on the board just like that.
In the 2nd inning, Suarez walked, Kivlehan reached 1st on a throwing error by Rich.  Jose Peraza singled scoring Suarez.  2-1.

In the bottom of the 2nd inning, first up Austin singled.  The ball deflected off of Reds pitcher Amir Garrett.
The ball had hit his pitching hand.  Injuries are always scary.  At that point I wasn’t sure where the ball had hit because he was flat on the ground.
He tried pitching.
But left the game replaced by Jake Buchanan.  The tone of the game seemed to change after that.
In the top of the 3rd inning, Buchanan walked as did Cozart but both were left on base.

In the bottom of the 3rd inning, Chris singled
Corey ground into a force out with Chris out at 2nd.
Franklin Gutierrez singled with Corey going to 2nd.
Logan walked.
Austin singled with a throwing error by the pitcher, scoring Corey and Franklin.  4-1.
Peraza singled in the top of the 4th but was left on base.

In the bottom of the 4th, Chris doubled to left field.
Corey walked.
Justin was hit by a pitch
A little conversation among the Reds.
It didn’t help because Franklin singled, scoring Chris and Corey.  6-1.
In the top of the 5th inning, the Reds were out in order.  The Dodgers also were out in order.

In the top of the 6th inning, Kenta Maeda made a surprise appearance for the first time as a Dodger in a relief role.   Skipper Dave Roberts had done a tag team type pitching with Ryu relieving in the last series.  It had worked pretty well.  Kenta being a team player took his new role with grace.  Rich already had a pitch count over 100.   The Reds were out in order.

In the bottom of the 6th inning Corey walked but was left on base.

In the top of the 7th inning again the Reds were out in order.    In the bottom of the 7th inning,m Logan singled but  was left on base.

In the top of the 8th inning the Reds again were out in order.  Kenta was doing a great job.

In the bottom of the 8th inning,   Kike hit a huge homerun to center field. 7-1.
Sometimes Kike looks like a cartoon figure on the field.  He is so funny.  His pants are about as tight as my leggings.
In the top of the 9th inning Joey Votto hit a solo homerun.. Well let’s give them one.  7-2.

Kenta did a great job.  This was his first win as a closer.
And the Dodgers win.  7-2.
Saturday’s game will take place after the Dodgers annual Old Timers Game.  Alex Wood 6-0, ERA 1.69 will be activated off of DL to face Reds Asher Wojciechowski 1-0 ERA 4.50.   I wonder if Asher has a nickname.


Thanks for stopping by.  GO DODGERS!!!

Leave a Reply

