A Different Day

It  was a gorgeous day.  It was hot during the daytime but it was cooling off early.  It started out much like any other day.  The traffic was heavy again but not as bad as the day before.  Friday wasn’t a giveaway day so I knew there wouldn’t be a crowd.  I was right.  There weren’t too many fans at early batting practice.  I like it that way.

This was the second game of a four game series with the Marlins.  They were on a four game losing streak so I felt confident we could get a win.  And also Alex Wood was pitching.  He has been the surprise so far of the season with his undefeated streak.  He is also the reigning MLB National League player of the week.  
All of our pitchers have been doing well and we seem to have plenty of them which is different from seasons past.  
Yasmani came out in full gear.  I never see him during early batting practice.  I figured that he was probably out on the field to catch for a pitcher ready to come off of DL…maybe Rich Hill.  I congratulated him on his way back.  He knew what I was talking about.  His wife Heather is expecting their first baby together.
Down by the dugout Clayton was all smiles.  I went up to see Max who had told me he would have the Mothers Day jerseys on Friday.  I had to decide which one I wanted.  I had my eye out for Trayce’s but he still is in Triple A.  The price of the jerseys ranged from $299 to thousands for Kershaw or Bellinger.  I crossed those two off my list right away.  I decided on my usual standby Andre Ethier.  He has always been one of my favorites anyway.  I then went to the other side of the field in hopes of seeing Dee Gordon and AJ Ellis.  I’m not one to scope out anyone on the opposing team but I made an exception in this case.  I saw AJ in the dugout.  He did say hi, how are you, as he quickly disappeared into the clubhouse.  I saw Dee out on the field.  He waved to me and he too disappeared into the clubhouse.  Fine then.  I give up.  The visitor’s side of the stadium was still hot and I really didn’t think it was worth it to stand in that baking sun for players in a bad mood.  So let’s sweep those losers.
I soothed my hurt feelings with the food in the club.  The honey bourbon beef tips helped.  So did the roasted turkey breast with cranberry chutney and creamed sweet potatoes.  
Joc was being interviewed by SportsNet when I returned to the seats.
Austin and Alex were already by the bullpen warming up.  I really like Austin although he isn’t the friendliest player on the Dodgers.  I wanted to buy his Mothers Day jersey but his uncle had beat me to it.  

Alex and Austin are a good combo.
The players came out to stretch…Franklin and Kike were starting because it was a left handed pitcher Justin Nicolino who was only pitching his second game this season.
National Anthem time.  
Corey signed a few autographs.  He was the only player who even approached the fans.  Not sure why they aren’t signing much lately. I don’t get autographs usually.  I have to confess that I did get Justin Turner’s when I saw him at the dugout only because he stopped to sign someone else’s.  He said he wasn’t that bad but was going on the DL anyway.  Apparently Logan will take third base when he returns from DL on Tuesday. Logan has been on DL since Apr 18 with a broken toe and then with hamstring issues.  Someone argued with me that he was off DL and played a game.  It’s interesting that people would argue things like that with me.  I showed her the transaction list on MLB and she said the list was wrong.  Whatever.
And there goes Alex and Austin.
First pitch
Look who’s sitting behind me.  Surprise!  I blurred out the photobombed behind us.
In the first inning, Marcell Osuna singled but was left on base.   

In the bottom of the 1st inning, Chris Taylor started his pounding of the Marlins with a double to right fielder Giancarlo Stanton.
Corey then singled
With Chris going to 3rd base.
Franklin reached first on fielders choice but Chris was out at home.  
Kike walked, Franklin to 2nd, Corey to 3rd.
Austin ground out with Corey scoring. 1-0.
In the top of the 2nd inning, Realmuto walked but Colon grounded into a double play.  Already 2 out.  Riddle doubled but pitcher Nicolino ground out so he was left on base.

In the bottom of the 2nd inning, the Dodgers were out in order.

In the top of the 3rd inning, Dee Gordon hit a single to left field but Yelich struck out and Ozuna ground into a double play.  Oh well Marlins.
Chris Taylor hit a solo homerun in the bottom of the 3rd inning. 2-0.  It seemed to change the momentum of the game and it definitely put the Marlins in a bad mood all around.  I guess I won’t go to the enemy side on Saturday to say hi to Dee.  I might not be welcome.
Corey then doubled into right field.  I know Giancarlo was fuming by then,
Franklin ground our with Corey going to 3rd.
Kike singled to center field scoring Corey 3-0.  Austin ground into a double play so the inning ended.
The Marlins were unable to score in the 4th inning with only a Realmuto walk.

Somehow Yasiel hurt himself walking to 1st in the 4th inning.
He stayed in the game but something wasn’t right.
Cody struck out but then Brett Eibner hit a 2 run homerun.  5-0.
Chris singled but was left on base.  Joc replaced Yasiel.
In the top of the 5th inning, the only action on the Marlins side was Dee getting hit by a pitch.  Dodgers were out in order.

In the top of the 6th inning, Ozuna singled but was left on base.  I can see frustration brewing on the enemy side.  In the bottom of the 6th inning, the Dodgers were again out in order.

In the 7th inning, both sides were out in order.

That’s ok.  I was busy in the club eating ice cream.
I moved to the other side of the stadium.  Everyone thinks I leave early but since I park in Lot K, I have to walk to the enemy side to get a head start.  

In the top of the 8th inning, Tyler Moore singled, Dee singled.  Time for a pitching change.  

Does it look like everyone is scuffling their feet while they wait or is that my imagination?  Everyone seems on edge.
In the bottom of the 8th inning, Austin walked but Joc struck out.
Cody Bellinger then hit a 2 run homerun 7-0.
It looked like Brett Eibner was deliberately hit by a pitch.  I suppose when a team is losing so badly, you have nothing to lose.
Ross struck out.  You could feel the tension mounting.  What would happen?  There had been no warning yet.
Ross decided that retribution was in order.  He threw his first pitch BEHIND Giancarlo Stanton.  He did not hit him.
Almost nothing is more exciting than benches clearing.   No one got hurt.  I noticed that Clayton Kershaw was the first one out of the Dodger dugout.  As a result of the incident, Stripling, Dodger bench coach Bob Geren and Marlins coach Donnie Mattingly were ejected.  Not sure why this happened.  No warning had been issued.  

Dodgers relief pitchers returned to the bullpen.

So did the Marlins relief pitchers amidst a lot of boos from Dodger fans.

Chris Hatcher replaced Ross Stripling so he could do his damage.  Giancarlo Stanton struck out. I give Hatcher credit for that.  We all cheered.  But Hatcher allowed a homerun to Bour 7-1, a single to Realmuto, a double to Colon and a sacrifice fly to Riddle scoring Realmuto 7-2.  Finally Dietrich struck  out ending the game.  So nerve wracking.  Hatcher kills me.

Saturday is  another giveaway day so it might be crowded.  After the benches clearing incident , fans may want to come to the game.  Dodgers will face right handed Dan Straily 3.56 ERA.  Pitching for the Dodgers will be Julio Urias ERA 3.43.  I’m hoping for another exciting game.

Much luck to Ashley who is expecting her first baby in 3 weeks.  
It was wonderful seeing Cindy’s family again.
Thanks for stopping by.  GO DODGERS!!  Thank you Yoshiko.  

Leave a Reply

