Blue Jays and Barney 

Crystal and I have made it a tradition that when my favorite past Dodger player Darwin Barney comes to Angel Stadium, we attend a game.  So Saturday was the day.  I wore my Barney tee shirt.

We had great seats thanks to some research by Crystal.  We were in the second row in right field.  Not too many heads in the way for my pictures.
Angel Stadium is a nice stadium but not Dodger Stadium of course.
There was no batting practice because the game the night before ran into extra innings, 13 actually.  A few Blue Jays went out on the field but no Barney.  I heard that the Jays got to their hotel about 2:00am the night before.
One of the Blue Jays Marco Estrada  came out to see his friends and family.
Finally Darwin came out to stretch for about half a minute.  He saw us, smiled and waved.  That was about it.  It was minutes before game time.  I was disappointed of course.  It was my annual Darwin Barney fix and it was just a fleeting moment.  Sometimes things don’t turn out the way I want them to.
The National Anthem before Barney made it out to stretch
The red crew and super heroes or whatever they call these folks walked along the field
The highlight of the game was the carne asada burrito that Crystal brought me.  It was delicious.
Her veggie burrito looked pretty amazing.
One of the ushers on the field threw some pistachios to the stands later in the game and it landed at my feet.  My souvenir.
The Blue Jays are dead last in their division.  I think that’s why none of the Blue Jays looked very happy.  This game ended with a bit of excitement with a score of 4-5 with the Jays again losing although they never lost their spunk.  I’m beginning to think that Mike Trout simply isn’t human.  I was watching the Dodger/D Backs score.  The Dodgers are sinking in their division as well.  They have lost more games than they have won..not a very good start to the season.

I was able to get a few good shots of Barney.  He seemed to get on base almost every time he was up but was taken out in the later innings for a pinch hitter.  That was when I lost interest.  The game ended with fireworks and a movie.  We never did find out what movie was featured.  They never said.  It must not have been a very good movie because just about everyone left after fireworks.
Wonderful Barney…how I miss him.  
Of course when we left the game,  the car was nowhere to be found.  I can’t ever find my car in the Angel Stadium parking lot and last night was no different.  It took about half an hour but we eventually found it.

Crystal posed by the Don Julio truck
Fireworks after the game
Thanks for stopping by.  Hopefully the Blue Jays and Dodgers find their way this season.  GO DODGERS!!!  GO BLUE JAYS!!

Leave a Reply

