Kershaw vs Greinke

Friday started out to be one of my most frustrating traffic days ever.  It took almost 3 hours to drive from Long Beach to Dodger Stadium when the drive usually is only one hour at the very most.  It was Good Friday and the start of Spring Break for many.  I had allowed extra time to get to the stadium but still arrived after the gates had opened for batting practice.  I was in a bad mood when I finally got there.   I had to go in with general admission cars since I was so late which added another 15 minutes.  My friend Veronica had been giving me a rundown on what was going on during batting practice since she was smart enough to have booked a tour which included early batting practice.  That actually made me more frustrated and unhappy.  Bumper to bumper traffic can do that to a person.  I apologize to anyone who may have crossed my path because this Cat was very unhappy.


Actually the above didn’t happen.  Crystal texted it to me and I couldn’t help but laugh even in the mood I was in.  Thank you Crystal.

Chase Utley was signing for a few boys at the dugout.  I was in time to watch the guys come in from batting practice.  Great!!!
It was nice seeing Trayce Thompson back at Dodger Stadium.  I was wearing my Trayce shirt.  He signed autographs for fans and stopped to say hi to us.  So happy to have him back with the team.  Fingers crossed that he stays for a while.
It was time to go up to the club to eat.  I was starving.  Sitting in traffic makes a person hungry.  The tri tip was tender and tasty.  The salads, especially the black bean salad were excellent.  I was in a better mood.
Yasmani was already on the field.
Yeah, look Kersh..there she is.  She’s late.  Send her back to minors.
He had just made that long walk to the field, deep in thought.  What dooes someone that perfect actually think about?
He went through his usual routine
And looked my way several times.  That’s part of his usual routine.
He warmed up
While on the other side of the stadium, his pitching matchup Zack Greinke, did the same.
Yikes…it’s cold.  This isn’t Arizona!!!  I really need to warm up.
Kershaw
So good to finally meet baby Elsa who is adorable, of course.  Does she look exactly like her Daddy or is it my imagination?
And here is Logan again wearing his correct uniform, going through his usual unusual stretching.
Corey
Yasiel
Yasiel “stretching” with the enemy
Andrew Toles.  I told him I ordered a tee shirt with his name on it so I can wear it and he said “Really? Thank you.”  He actually is a very quiet guy.
Justin who is playing great baseball, keeping up his great hot streak from Spring Training.
National Anthem time
Here they all come
Then Joc came out to warm up
And came over to the fans and signed autographs.  Wow…right at me.  I have gotten one autograph since the season started.  Slow start or not that interested??  Not sure.
Clayton and Yaz made their way down the field with excitement building.  It was the meeting between two best friends, two of the highest paid players in baseball:  Clayton and Zack.  
First pitch was thrown by a young boy who had lost his legs to sepsis.  Such a brave kid.
Wait…hold your wild horses…Yasiel is signing autographs the last minute.  He is definitely one of the most fan friendly of the Dodgers.  By the way, the Wild Horse Foundation is Puig’s charity.
First pitch…and here we go.
1-2-3 for Clayton in the first inning.

Zack allowed a walk to Corey in the 1st inning.
1-2-3 again for Clayton in the 2nd inning.

Not so quiet for Zack in the 2nd inning, allowing a single to Yaz, a double to Joc and a walk to Yasiel.  He came out of the inning without allowing a run however.
In the top of the 3rd inning, it was once again 1-2-3 for Clayton.  He is keeping his pitch count down.

In the bottom of the 3rd inning, Corey singled, Justin singled, and Adrian singled, scoring Corey, Justin to 3rd.  1-0.
Logan singled scoring Justin, Adrian to 3rd. 2-0.  With Yaz striking out and Joc popping out, that was the end of an exciting inning.
There was some action on the D backs side when Owings singled and Goldschmidt walked.  First hit of the game for the D Backs.  But no score for them.

In the bottom of the 4th inning,  Toles singled, Corey walked and the Justin doubled, scoring Andrew and Corey.  Scary headfirst slide by Corey.  I was worried until Corey got up.  4-0.
Top of the 5th, the D Backs were out in order.

In the bottom of the 5th inning, with Zack still pitching, Logan singled, Yaz singled, Yasiel with a sacrifice fly scored Logan. 5-0.  That was the end for Zack.
In the top of the 6th inning,  the D Backs were again out in order.

The Dodgers were out in order in the bottom of the 6th….uh what??  I was up in the club getting ice cream.  Can’t forget that.

Again in the top of the 7th inning, the D Backs were out 1-2-3.  Clayton was having another outstanding game.  The Dodgers only were allowed a walk by Yaz in the bottom of the 7th.

In the top of the 8th inning, Nick Ahmed was able to hit a single against Clayton but Jeff Mathis ground into a double play so no score yet for the D Backs.

Yasiel singled in the bottom of the 8th inning.  Then Tolesy hit a huge homerun to left field scoring Yasiel.  7-0.  Corey hit a single but was unable to score with pop flies by Justin and Adrian.
In the top of the 9th inning, it seemed that Clayton would continue on and finish the game.  But Inannetta singled.  Chris Owings doubled scoring Inannetta.  The play was challenged but the call stood.  Garbage play.  7-1.

Pedro Baez who just returned from DL replaced Clayton.  Baez is an expert at slowing the game down.  Maybe I should take a nap.
Aw….come on coach!!!!First D Back walked.  I became fearful.  But Tomas struck out and Drury ground out.  Three out.  And Dodgers win. 7-1
Saturday will be a face off between Kenta Maeda and Patrick Corbin.  It also is Jackie Robinson Day.  A statue of Jackie Robinson will be unveiled before the game in the left field reserve plaza.  I will be there.  Season ticket holders are invited.  Saturday is also the 70th anniversary of Jackie Robinson’s Brooklyn Dodgers debut.
Thanks for stopping by.   The day started in turmoil for me but ended well.  That’s what counts.  Thank you Crystal for all the moral support and helping me through my angst.   Saturday will be a better day.  I have to find one of my Kenta Maeda shirts.  It appears that Rich Hill will be pitching on Sunday.  The  blister on his finger must have healed.  Life is good.    GO DODGERS!!!

Leave a Reply

