Fun Dodger Weekend

 This past weekend was one full of Dodger activities.  Saturday was the Adrian Gonzalez charity softball event.  Sunday was the yearly season ticket holders event.  I was excited.  I was missing the Dodgers by this time.  It didn’t faze me that I had to work 12 hours all night Saturday night after the softball game.  I wasn’t going to miss anything.

Saturday turned out to be the perfect day.  It was mild and sunny.

There was a pretty good turnout considering it was the beginning of Thanksgiving week when people are busy with the holidays.


Everyone knows how I am about lines.  Of course there was one to get in.


I was with friends so it wasn’t too bad waiting:  my good friends Donna and Norma.

The grass looked a little sad compared to the way it usually looks but then again, it is off season.  I hate writing those words.
We were given goodie bags with snacks and a Dodger license plate.  The snacks were pretty good.

First order of business was to stand in another line to get an autograph from Adrian Gonzalez.  It was $35 to get one autograph.  I just wanted a chance to say hi to him.  There was plenty of security.  The money went to his charity.  Adrian is a difficult autograph to get anyway so why not.



Sorry that these pictures are a little blurry.  They were taken with my iphone from a distance.  He already spotted me.

Here he is signing my ball.  I actually have his autograph but I wanted to give to his charity.  I was surprised when he looked up and recognized me.  He gave me a big smile and asked me if I was having fun.  Those Dodgers notice more than you think they do.
He did a beautiful job signing my ball right on the sweet spot although I never ask players to do that.  After all…I’m never going to sell anything.  He always writes a reference to a scripture.  In case anyone is interested, this is the passage in Psalms:  “The LORD is my light and my salvation-whom shall I fear?  The LORD is the stronghold of my life-of whom shall I be afraid.”  So Adrian…!

With the ticket I purchased, I received a free personally autographed picture of Adrian.  Very nice action shot.  Almost as good as my pictures…JK!


I bought two more pictures at the merchandise table.  Norma told me that this picture was the one they gave away last year.


Mika bought fries.  I bought veggie dogs for Norma and me.  It totally killed me to pay for anything since I get all this stuff free during the season.  I fully loaded my veggie dog.


The event supports Adrian’s BAT4HOPE which benefits Padres Contra El Cancer.  


I was excited to see a Dodger…and it happened to be one of my favorites…Adrian.  The off season already is too long.


Joc Pederson was also participating.  I love Joc.  


He brought his new 4 month old puppy Blue.


Blue immediately went out on the field and squatted.  She just doesn’t realize that Dodger grass is sacred!  Bad dog.


Joc thoroughly enjoyed the game but was having problems hitting that softball.


However fellow team member Austin Barnes was the MVP of the game.  He hit 3 homeruns.


Congratulations all around.


Adrian’s daughter Brianna wanted to come down on the field with her Daddy.


She spent time with Joc and Austin and Joc’s puppy Blue.


She also took her turn at bat.  She’s quite a girl.


And she’s definitely Daddy’s girl.


Sunday turned out to be a cloudy, rainy day.  The clouds already looked ominous when I got to the stadium.  The weather forecast was foreboding.  Rainy, cloudy, inclement.  Not that many showed up probably because Californians don’t like bad weather.


My poor seat was a mess.  It was dirty and looked more torn up than usual.  I wish the management would spend some money and fix it.  I went alone to the event.  I was actually supposed to go with Norma but she had a family emergency and couldn’t go.  It was just as well.  It really wasn’t fun.


I only went to get my yearly holiday picture.  I know I look a little thrashed.  I had worked 12 hours the night before and hadn’t slept for a good 36 hours.  I was feeling it.


It was good to see Rosa and her family.  I told her daughter-in-law that she was wearing the wrong color.


I also ran into my good friend JoAnna.  She looks a little cold.  It started to pour shortly after that.


There was a self guided tour of certain places in the stadium.  Not much fun without a tour guide.


It’s always interesting to see where the Dodgers work out.


And where the bullpen goes to the bathroom.  Now why would they have a disabled bathroom down there?


The weather got more inclement until it was a downpour.  I decided I had enough and left after only being at the park for one hour.

I was glad I went but it was a little disappointing.

I stopped at a Japanese market and got something to eat on the way home:  salmon and crab.  Yum.

Thanks for stopping by.  Congratulations to Vin Scully on his Medal of Freedom.  He definitely was the voice of the Dodgers.  I hope everyone has a blessed Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

