Fan Fest 2016

  
It was a gorgeous day for Fan Fest.  The weather was mild, in the 60’s.  Usually it is unbearably hot but it was amazingly wonderful.

  We got to the stadium as it was opening so the crowds were not too bad.  We were greeted with friendly security.  I decided it was much more fun to go to this event with my friends.  I tend to do everything by myself but certain things is much better with people you like.
  
I wore my new Kershaw shirt.

  The crowd grew as it got later

  
 The autograph line was not too bad.  It was well controlled this year.

  
 We thought we would check out the autographed ball grab bags.  We waited too long for the autographed jerseys.  They sold out.  My friends were able to snag two Maury Wills autographed balls.  Lucky.  The ball grab bags were $40 and the jersey grab bags were $80.  Last year the balls were $20 and the jerseys $40.  Inflation.  But it’s all for charity so I don’t mind paying.

  My friend Norma had been able to get an autograph voucher for Shawn Green for me.  He is and always will be my favorite Dodger.   We had to go online a week ago to get the vouchers.  They were all prepaid but to get the vouchers was very difficult.  I was only able to get two vouchers for Scott Kazmir but he was my number one priority.  Norma was more lucky.  She was able to get Shawn, Dave Roberts and Kike.  
   
 He was as usual friendly and nice.  I almost fainted when he said, “Hi again.”  No matter how often I see him, he still makes me nervous.  I was shaking so much, I could barely speak.

  
 The selfie police rained on my parade but oh well.  I’ll have to figure out how to erase her from this picture.

  Ross Stripling was partnered with Shawn in the autograph line.  He was very sweet.
  I was able to snag a picture of Chris Hatcher.  He smiled for the camera.  He had a great last half of the season.
  And this is….Zach Lee.
  
 Here is Ross’s autograph on lasts year’s batting practice ball.  The Dodger dirt adds a little character.

  There were on stage interviews.  Here’s Kike being his usual adorable self.
  I got close enough to get a pretty good picture of Kenley.  Norma really didn’t like the beard.
   

  
  Ron Cey…always a favorite Dodger
  
 Yaz

  Brandon McCarthy
  
 Austin Barnes who wins the prize for the most beautiful eyes

  Norma was getting hungry so we trekked to Tommy Lasorda’s Trattoria.  We aren’t used to buying food at the stadium so this was a first for me.
  We decided on pizza.  How can you go wrong?
  
 The line was depressingly long as were all the lines so I looked around.  I love the Cy Young mural..all the Dodgers who have won the coveted award.

  The pizza was pretty good but not sure if that slice was worth the $8.00+ that they charged for it.  A large soda was $6.00+.  Like I said, I’m not used to paying for stadium food so this hurt.
  
 We went back down to the crowded area since we had to stand in the autograph line again.  The crowd was terrible.

  
  
  
But it was nice being with my Dodger friends again.  They are the best.

   

Chase Utley was the next up for autographs.  He was cordial.

  
 Maybe not totally into it.  Utley ball below.

  
  But Scott Kazmir was very nice besides being gorgeous.  What do you think?  I really didn’t even know what he looked like.  I was impressed.  He will definitely remember me since I had one of my “you gotta be kidding” moments when I forgot my phone on the table and didn’t know where I had put it. I went into panic mode of course.  He helped me look around for it.
  His autograph 
  
  
  He signed a jersey for me as well.  I invested in a women’s Dodger jersey when I found out it wasn’t limited to one autograph a person.  I was able to use my MVP card and got a 30% discount.  Total cost of the jersey was about $60.  It was well worth it.  It’s usually difficult to get pitchers’ autographs during the season and I really am not into autographs.  I prefer pictures.  I was too nervous even to try a selfie after my phone fiasco.
  
 I had last year’s cap with me so I had the guys sign it for me.  Puig’s autograph is in the middle.  He likes to sign in the middle and usually writes so big, no one else can fit an autograph in.  The cap is a bit worn but I have many happy memories with it.  This was my fourth cap of the year since people like to walk off with it.  No matter how dirty and worn it is, it is a prime target for thieves.  I have to put a padlock on it if it’s not on my I head.  I had a cap with Matt Kemp, Andre Ethier and Yasiel Puig on it but that was stolen.  That hurt my heart. 

  We went into the Ketel One Baseline Club just to see it again.
  Lots of nice thoughts about the club.
  
I ran into Lisa, one of the ushers.  She is one of my favorite stadium people.

  We posed in front of a picture of Vinnie.
  
 We have to be goofy once in a while.

  
 We went into the game used store.  Matt is always very accommodating. He knows I’m always hunting for Bolsinger and Barney stuff.  I was lucky to get the official lineup card for the Atlanta Braves game July 22, 2015  where my Mike Bolsinger pitched.  It has a Mattingly signature on it.  The lineup card goes for about $170 during the season.  I got it for a mere $20.  I also bought a blue practice jersey for $20.  Thank you Matt.

  

  
  The crowd was thinning out as the day wore on.
  
I told Norma that the day wouldn’t be complete without selfies.

  
I’m getting better.  

We were tired by the end of the day but we had a great time.  We are looking forward to spring training in a couple of months.  Baseball season is getting closer and closer.

  I look forward to baseball season when I can see my friends all the time.  By the way, that’s Mika peeking behind CJ.  She’s a little camera shy.  CJ is an up and coming young pitcher.  One day he will be a Dodger.
Thanks for stopping by so I could share my Fan Fest experience with you.  You are the best.
 
 
 
 
 
 

  
 

One comment

  1. Pingback: Discover: Monday Around the Horn « MLB.com Blogs

Leave a Reply

