How It Started

  Everyone who knows me knows my passion for the Los Angeles Dodgers. I eat breathe live Dodgers all the time even in the off season. Most of my wardrobe consists of Dodger shirts and jackets. I don’t own a dress or heels.  

It wasn’t always like that. I grew up not ever watching baseball. I watched a little college basketball and some pro football but was never a sports fan at all. I thought, as many uninformed people do, that baseball was boring!!

My life changed when I became very ill with pneumonia. I unfortunately was off work for 5 months. Most of the time I didn’t even have the energy to get out of bed. I turned on the tv and couldn’t bear to watch daytime tv. It was baseball season and yes, the Dodgers were on network television.  I learned that baseball was not the boring game everyone complained about.  It is a game of strategy. The goal is not for the pitcher to throw the ball over the plate so the other guy can hit it. You don’t want the other guy to hit it. It is truly a game of skill and a lot of luck.

It was the year I fell in love with Shawn Green.

  This picture was taken several years later after Shawn had retired from baseball. But he was the reason I became a Dodger fan.
  One of my best friends works as one of the stadium doctors and asked me if I’d like to go to a Dodger game. I had never been to one so I happily accepted.  And that’s when my passion really started.  When she works she gets 4 tickets in reserve section back row.  She also gets free parking. My first game was free thanks to her. She bought me my first Dodger dog.  And a root beer float! And suddenly my blood turned Dodger blue.
I treated myself to a field section ticket on my birthday. I remember that day clearly. I was excited and nervous. I was hoping to see Shawn Green close up. The closest I’d been to him was through binoculars.

I saw him on the field and got up enough nerve to run up to the front. I was within a few feet of him. My heart was pounding. Everyone was getting autographs. I had nothing for him to autograph. I got near him and could barely speak.  He smiled at me, my heart melted into a puddle and I immediately became a diehard Dodger fan. I was hooked. 

The next season I bought tickets here and there in field section. I then bought season tickets front row by the left field foul pole. I also bought dugout and baseline seats on StubHub. I usually had 2 seats a game.  I decided to buy mini season baseline seats. Then I bought a couple of mini plans hooked together. They would never let me buy one season ticket in baseline. They were sold in 2’s or 3’s. Finally a few years ago when they remodeled the baseline section, they allowed me to be the only single baseline single ticket holder. I am lucky. My seat is on the aisle in the 3rd row.  Look me up and say hi.

I am a full time ER nurse at the VA Medical Center in Long Beach.  It is a stressful career so baseball helps me keep at an even keel. I share my love of baseball with everyone including my patients and co workers. 

  My wonderful Dad also loved the Dodgers. He and Tommy had a nice moment together. Love you Dad. I have many nice memories of my Dad and the Dodgers. 
Many people have asked me how long I’ve been a Dodger fan so I thought I would share this with you to answer a few questions.

I’ll never take for granted how lucky I have been during my seasons being a Dodger fan. I have gotten to know many wonderful people, some who  have passed on including two wonderful ushers, Ernie and last year, Bill. I know you are happy in Blue Heaven. I have met many good friends who also share my love for the Dodgers. You know who you are.

And most of all, I love you Dodgers. You are my reason for living!!!

  
One of my favorite Dodgers…Andre Ethier. Love you forever!! This was a few years ago.

Good luck in post season Dodgers!!!  Let’s win at home!

Thanks for stopping by. 

Leave a Reply

