When Your Heart is So Full

  This is never a good sign.  The weather prediction for Sunday’s game:  showers in the morning.  Game start was an hour early at 12:10 which meant the auto gates opened at 9:40, stadium gates opened at 10:10.  Nervous time.
  It was cloudy with a little blue peeking through when I got to the gate.
  No one was out on the field when they finally opened the gate.  Of course much of it was covered with tarp.  Donnie was speaking to the media.  Why there are so many Donnie haters out there I just don’t understand.
   
 The guys came out a few at a time.  We felt a few drops now and then.  The SportsNet camera crew were ready to fold up if there was a downpour.  I didn’t think it would rain on Clayton’s parade.

  I was scheduled to work on the playoff days. My friend Tess agreed to trade  days off with me.  I decided I would bite the bullet and get autographs on a ball for her sons in gratitude.  It takes a lot out of me to ask the Dodgers  for anything but I am so thankful to her for doing this favor for me.  I was surprised that I was able to get so many autographs in a few minutes.  I asked Justin Turner first.  He looked at me with surprise since I have never asked him for an autograph before. He was my first autograph.  I was able to get Donnie’s, Wieland, Avilan, Seager, Bolsinger, and a few others.  Of course, when I look at the ball I can’t tell who signed.  Can you? I have never asked even Mike for an autograph.  Everyone surprised?
  Speaking of Mike, he stopped when he saw me.  I have not really spoken to him since he came back up from Triple A.  He gave me a hug and then we spoke for a few minutes.  He gave me another hug before he left.  He still is my favorite and I told him that.  It hurts me that the Dodger management chose to send him down when he was doing so well.  He came back not the same.  I think that broke his spirit.  I will always support him.  My eyes still fill with tears when I think about what happened.  Before he went into the dugout he reached out and held my hand.  From that moment on, my heart felt so full, I thought I couldn’t fit anything else into it. I do get emotional about my Dodgers probably because I go to every game but also because I have gotten to know many of them.  They are not just athletes and statistics but real people who have feelings.  They have good days and bad days because they are human.  I wish everyone would believe that.
It was Fan Appreciation Day, the last game of the regular season.  I had already been depressed about the season ending because baseball and Dodgers are just about my whole life.  My life consists of baseball season and offseason.  Fan Appreciation Day consists of a handful of prizes given out to about 10 people.  Oh well….so the management appreciates 10 people.  

I went up to the club to eat and noticed that my 2 least favorite people were there.  When they saw me come into the club, they got up quickly so they could run to the stands to be where I usually am to take my pictures.  I’m short so I need to be in the front.  Oh great.  I wasn’t going to let them ruin my day.  I ate a little salad , said hi to my friend Yoshiko and her husband, and ran back out to the field.  Sure enough those people were standing in my spot taking up the whole area.  They are not small people by any means so they purposely spread out so I had to go somewhere else.  They stand in my field of vision so I can’t take my pictures.  I sighed with frustration but I wasn’t going to let them ruin my last day.  My friend Robert shrugged his shoulders.  He understood.  The players shy away from these people because they are annoying so I try not to stand near them.  Heaven forbid if the guys think these people are my friends. One of them makes comments to the guys about how they play.  Do you think that the guys appreciate that? They get the same autographs over and over.  What do they do with them?  And they call out to the players repeatedly  while they are trying to warm up.  Also not appreciated.  Chase Utley was sure to sign very far away from where these people were standing.  Carl also made sure to be very far away.  Corey usually starts signing in front of me and was surprised that I wanted an autograph this time. I needed one for my friend’s ball.  Of course, those people took the opportunity and got his autograph although they had plenty of his already.

   
 I had to jockey for position to get these pictures of Clayton.

   
   AJ
  The sky was still threatening.
   
    
 AJ and Clayton both did their running

   
   And Clayton threw out some practice pitches.  I still think that Clayton Kershaw is the best pitcher in baseball no matter who wins the Cy Young this year.  
  Clayton had his moment of meditation
   
   while the Channel Islands mascot did his thing.  We think he is a dolphin.
   
   I was glad to see Joc starting
   
 and Corey

   
 Chase Utley
  And Alex Guerrero
  My buddy Ryan cheered me up.  He was pushed to the back by those people too.  They will stand in front of the little ones too.
  The National Anthem
  Zack Greinke was presented with the Roy Campenella award.  So proud of him.  He is actually smiling.
  I always have to check out Brett Anderson.  Of course he was wearing his hoody.

   
 And Clayton threw out the first pitch

  And with that first pitch, the sky turned a beautiful blue.  Perfect for Clayton’s 300th strikeout of the season. 
 
 I was thrilled that Joc hit a 2 run homerun in the second inning with AJ also scoring. 2-0.

  My big surprise was my friend Jessica Washington and her adorable son.  She stopped by to say hi.  I am so blessed to have her as a friend.  My day couldn’t be better.  Remember when I said that my heart was so full.  It was ready to burst.
   
 Corey hit a solo homerun in the 6th inning. 3-0.  by that time, they had taken Clayton out after throwing his 300th strikeout. Chris Heisey also homered, but Austin Barnes was on base making it a 2 run shot. 5-0.  

  
 Jimmy Rollins was the player-manager of the day.  He was wearing Tommy Lasorda’s jersey.  Jimmy had a smooth sailing game until he decided to call Luis Avilan to relieve.  Luis allowed a 3 run homerun making the score 5-3.

  
 In the bottom of the 8th inning, Ronald Torreyes singled, scoring Joc. 6-3.

   
   And Chris Hatcher closed out the game, the final score  6-3.
   
    
   It was a fun game  No one was under any pressure.  Everything that needed to be clinched was done already.

  So it was time for selfies.  I’m not very good so I’m practicing.  Donna, Norma and me in the club.
  Bud, the best chef ever
  Cindy, the best expo who makes sure my in seat food is never late
  Didi who is both beautiful and super
  Yoshiko who has made my life wonderful
  Ty who needs to come back to the club.  It’s not the same without her.
  And Jessica who makes my heart so full.
The 2015 season has been the best one I have ever had.  I’m glad I could share it with you. You can see why I love going to Dodger games so much.  I feel very lucky and blessed.  

And now on to Post Season.  

  Can I show you my tickets again???  I can’t wait until Friday.
Thanks for stopping by.  GO DODGERS!! 

 

Leave a Reply

