An Embarrassment

  It’s difficult sometimes to find the positive.  Last night’s game was an example.
It started out very hot.  That’s already a negative for me.  Then we found out that there was no batting practice.  After the game that day, I wonder why they didn’t.  It was dismal.  No offense at all.

  My friend Robert asked me whether I thought that the person on the phone was Alex Guerrero.  Can’t be sure but he has the same phone that I do.
  I guessed that this person was Kike.
  I thought this might be Chase Utley.
  Hard to tell
  Any guesses?
  AJ came to the fans and signed several autographs which I have never seen him do but everyone was thrilled.
  Jimmy came to someone in the stands to get something and was immediately mobbed for autographs.  I don’t get autographs anymore.  I’m done for the season.  I still like to get photos with them but that’s about it.  Fans can quickly become moblike.  They crowd to one corner and push and shove to get what they want.
  Zack is smart.  He doesn’t even get close.  He also avoids eye contact.
  He pulled out his ponytail when he got to the field.  I wonder if he’s seen my blog.  I actually thought at first it was a big girl before he shook out his hair.
  
  
  
  He practiced and stretched
  And walked to the other end of the field without glancing our direction.  Smart guy.
  I went up to the Club and checked out the food.  the BBQ meatloaf was just what i would be needing through the night.  Meatloaf is a comfort food.  It was a horrible night for Dodger fans.
 
I already had bad feelings about the game.  I knew that Jake Arrieta was beyond good.  He is Cy Young caliber.  He may take it away from our two Cy Young candidates. I prepared myself for a Dodger loss.  I had told everyone I expected the Dodgers to lose Sundays game but I didn’t expect it to be so bad.

  It’s actually comforting for me to see Yaz cross the field with his familiar pink drink.
  I’ve seen him follow his routine all season.
  He’s become one of my favorites
  He’s become better and better offensively and defensively
  He always says a little prayer before the game.
  Alex Wood was already in the bullpen.  He must have taken the underground tunnel from the locker room to the bullpen.
  He made some practice pitches to warm up
  
 Kike came out to stretch

  
  Joc was given a chance to start
  Carl and Jimmy having a chat with a Cub
  
 I heard that Matt Latos doesn’t want his picture taken.  Haha.  Can’t hide from my camera

  I even got you smiling. Too bad.  There’s Brett Anderson in his hoodie in the background.  Sheesh!  It must have been at least 90 degrees at game time.
  Yaz and Alex discussing the game plan
  No one expected the game to go the way it did
  First pitch
The bottom line is that the Dodgers pretty much were blanked by Jake Arrieta, the first Cub since 2008 to pitch a no hitter.  He also struck 12 Dodgers out.  It was an embarrassment to the Dodgers who were involved in a no hitter against Mike Fiers of the Astros on Aug 21, less than 10 days ago.  As James Koh said..”How many times can the Dodgers get no hit?  I guess $300 mill don’t go as far as it used to.”

Alex Wood didn’t do badly although he threw 72 pitches in 3 innings.  He righted the ship and lasted 6 innings with only 2 runs but had 7 strikeouts.  Kris Bryant hit a 2 run homerun in the top of the first inning.  I knew then that the game was essentially over.  I took a walk shortly after that to meet a friend who was sitting in the Reserve level.  He is a Cubs fan so I ended up congratulating him.  He put things in perspective by telling me that the no hitter soothed the hurt of losing 2 games already to the Dodgers and ended a 4 game losing streak for the Cubs.  Thank you Dr. Kim.

  
The only action on the Dodgers part was Kike reaching first on a supposed error by Castro in the 3rd inning.  Arrieta thought that it was a hit.  There is no way that the decision will be changed at this point.  I guess the rules are that if the player should have been able to catch the ball, it is an error.  That’s funny.  I feel that way about every ball that anyone misses. So what’s the difference?  Kike was taken out of the game in the 8th inning after feeling a hamstring tighten.  Not good news since Puig is already on the 15 day DL with a hamstring pull and Howie Kendrick has been sidelined with one for a while.  Kike has never had a hamstring issue so wasn’t sure how severe it was.  

The only other action was Jimmy’s walk in the 6th.  Otherwise the Dodgers were very quiet offensively.

  I comforted myself with some strawberry ice cream.
The Giants also lost so we keep our 3 1/2 game lead as they come to town Monday for a 3 game series.  However Brett Anderson is on the mound.  He is 1-4 against the Giants.  Not sure I like that statistic.

All in all, it was a disappointing game.  Congratulations to Jake Arrieta for his no hitter.  I left the game before the final out.  I’m not that good a sport that I can watch another team celebrate at my Dodgers expense.  I know a no hitter is a huge deal but I’d rather watch my own team celebrate one.  I heard that Arrieta came to the news conference wearing pajamas.  The Cubs had a pajama party on the Dodgers field.  Glad I left.  

There have been an explosion in no hitters so far this season.  Arrieta is the 6th.  It used to be a big deal to get a no hitter.  What’s going on?  No hitters so far:  Fiers, Iwakuma, Hamels, Scherzer, Heston.

  There is always a positive to every game.  My friend Stephanie brought her new born son Jackson to the game.  He is 6 weeks old.  He’s a cutie and destined to be a Dodger fan.  It made my day.
Another positive:  the bullpen had a 0.53 ERA in the last 17 innings.  I guess that doesn’t count those close calls.  The Dodgers also won 4 games out of 5 in the last week.

The Dodgers expand their roster tomorrow.  I know Mike Bolsinger will be back.  I can’t wait.  I’ve missed him.  I expect to see Darwin Barney as well with Kike hurt, Howie still on the mend, Puig on DL.  Barney is multi faceted and can play several positions including shortstop and 2nd.  He has been playing everyday in Triple A.  I have my fingers crossed that my two favorite players will be back.  Also players who may be included are Corey Seager, Kyle Jensen, Buck Britton,  Zach Lee, Austin Barnes, Scott Schebler, Eric Surkamp.

  
Zach Lee

So as we always say when the Dodgers lose, let’s turn the page.  This was a very difficult post for me to write.  I almost didn’t write one but I convinced myself to write it.  I knew you would be waiting.  Thanks for stopping by.  I appreciate you more than you know.  GO DODGERS!!!

Leave a Reply

