The Phillies

It was an away game today. Usually the Dodgers are home on the 4th which also happens to be my birthday. For two seasons, Matt Kemp had hit home runs as a nice gift. No Matt this year and no game. Sad face.

I also worked. I’m not much for celebrating and also not good at receiving gifts. It must be the Asian in me. I didn’t tell anyone at work that it was anything other than a regular work day. I ended up staying  an hour overtime of course with no extra pay trying to hunt down a patient’s appointment location. I left tired but knew I had done my good deed of the day. For those who don’t already know, I am a full time ER nurse.  I have been lucky not to have missed any home games in 6 years.

I was hoping that the Dodgers could win the game today and keep the momentum going. I don’t watch tv so I kind of kept up on the game through Twitter and MLB@Bat. It seemed to be going well until the bottom of the 7th when Joel Peralta allowed a grand slam home run turning a tie score into an instant nightmare. Crawford doubled in Yasiel in the top of the 8th making the score 2-5. But the bullpen allowed another Phillie run also in the 8th making the score 2-6 which was the final score.

Several thoughts: Alex Wood did well in his debut. Very positive. The Phillies fans showed a lot of class giving their former player Jimmy Rollins a standing ovation. The Dodger bullpen…again inconsistent and responsible for losing the game for a starting pitcher who has had a quality start.  The bullpen has allowed 31 home runs already this season. The solution is for our starting pitchers to pitch 9 innings.  Anyone have a better solution?

Wednesday Brett Anderson will match up with Aaron Harang, a former Dodger.  Hopefully there will be a better outcome. The Dodgers are barely hanging onto first place in the west.

I would be using my Mike Bolsinger jacket as a security blanket but it’s too hot!!!

Thanks for stopping by. GO DODGERS!

Leave a Reply

