Before the Break

  Sunday was the last game before the All Star Break.  It was also a dreaded day game.  The predicted temperature at game time was 82 degrees.  When I arrived, it was warm but there was also an occasional breeze.  I was hopeful.

  

  

  There was only one thing I found interesting. Can you guess what it was?

I decided to go up to the club to eat.  I was already feeling the heat.

  They had Sunday brunch which isn’t my favorite.  The fare was an egg dish, ham and vegetable bistro.

  I ate a little salad.

  I ventured back out in time to see AJ  and a group of local cheerleaders.

  He warmed up
  Brett Anderson, the starting pitcher, glanced over at the activity as he walked to the bullpen.

  
  He took a few warmup pitches.

  Joc came out to stretch

  run a little

  stretch a little more

  Then Yasiel came out amid a lot of cheers

  Brett and AJ went into the bullpen to practice

  Kike came out to warm up then.  My friend Veronica was excited.  She had just purchased his fourth of July jersey and hoped to get it signed.  He doesn’t usually stop to sign.

  But after he stretched, he came over to sign the jersey.

  Yasiel, Kike and Justin 

  Mike signed a few autographs in the dugout.  Fans were throwing balls at him which i think is a little dangerous.

  National Anthem time.  Andre is looking right at me.

  Brett walked back to the dugout alone.

  He always finds a small child to give a ball to on his way.

  They had a small ceremony celebrating our All Stars:  Adrian, Yaz, Joc, Zack and Clayton

  I’m so proud of our guys.  And we can’t forget Donnie, who will help coach the team

  Yasiel signed some autographs to the delight of many kids.  He definitely is a fan favorite.

  The Dodgers took the field

  And Brett threw the first pitch

It started out on a down note.  The hated Ryan Braun hit a solo home run in the top of the first. 0-1.  But in the bottom of the 1st, Justin singled Jimmy in. 1-1.

    

  

Perez hit a solo homerun at the top of the 3rd inning making the score 1-2.  In the top of the 4th inning, Perez grounded into a force out, scoring Lind. 1-3.  It was getting really hot so I took a break in the club.

  In the bottom of the 5th inning, about the time that I thought I would melt into my seat, AJ hit a solo homerun making the score 2-3.  

  I ate my ice cream in hopes it was my celebration ice cream

Adrian hit a solo homerun in the bottom of the 8th inning as I was walking to the other side of the stadium  Usually I leave my seat to walk to the other side somewhere in the 8th inning so I can get to my car in lot K after the game without having to fight the crowd.

  
  
  I took some shots of our veteran catcher AJ who hasn’t had that much playing time because of our phemomenal new catcher Yaz.
  
  
  It’s fun to watch Kike in left field.  He is in constant motion.
  It was a blast from the past to see former Dodger closer Broxton pitching in the bottom of the 8th for the other side.
  Our fantastic closer Kenley came in to seal the deal.
  
  Brandon McCarthy and Zack watched from the dugout.  We were hoping it was another come from behind game for the Dodgers.
  Yasiel kept track of the outs
  And the Dodgers ended the first half of the season still in first place.  This has been a winning homestand for us.
  My favorite pictures are always at the end of the game.  It’s thrilling to take pictures to the sound of “I Love LA.”
  
   
 
  
Everyone is going on the All Star Break either heading for the All Star game to play or to take a nice 4 day vacation.  

I will be be back at work following this 10 game homestand vacation.  I already miss the guys.  I’m not sure how I will survive.  I miss my Dodger friends.  There won’t be any home games until July 28 when they play the Oakland A’s and then the Angels over the weekend.

It was difficult for me to survive the first night of the All Star Break.  I have to confess that I slept with Mike’s jacket.  Am I getting a bit sentimental?? Anyone who knows me knows that the Dodgers are more to me than just a baseball team.  They are my life for 6 months.  Everything else has to take a back seat.  Thanks to Tess Gilmore, my Dodger rep and friend for making my Dodger experience even better this year.  Thanks also to my wonderful friends who have made the first half of the season the best ever.  Thanks to the Dodger support staff.  And thank you Dodgers.  

Thank you for stopping by.  I’ll keep in touch.  GO DODGERS!!!

  

Leave a Reply

