Mission: Spring Training

i decided to try going to Spring Training again. I had gone the first year but it was too hot!

My motivation was that my friend Norma got me three tickets: Rangers, Cubs and Angels. How could I pass that up? I also was going to ride with her and stay with her in a suite.

However, I ended up flying…no room in her car. I reserved my own suite…I would have had to either share a bed or sleep in the living room.  I have horrible sleeping habits since I work night shift. I wake up about 3:00 am. I didn’t want to have to tiptoe around. I never sleep in. 

My suite was at Comfort Suites. I stayed there before and thoroughly enjoyed it. The White Sox minor league team stays there so it’s not hectic.

  My bedroom was magnificent and very comfortable.

  The living room was huge complete with computer desk and tv.

  They gave me a goody bag with treats.

  Fresh baked cookies in the afternoon.

  The breakfast consisted of biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs and bacon. There also was hot and cold cereal, waffle bar, pastries, bagels, fruit, boiled eggs, juices.

The first game against the Rangers was at Surprise. It was St. Patrick’s Day.

  My friends definitely were prepared. Animals were all safe. Kathy and Norma, pictured left to right are veterinarians.

  The stadium is nice. Thankfully our seats were in the shade. The sun is not my friend.

  It was good to see my guys again.

   

 

  Tommy sat in our section but down in the sun. “Fans” pestered him the entire game for autographs.

  I didn’t recognize most of the players. There are only 15 of the 2014 team back.

  We were meeting at West Gate for dinner. It’s only a couple of miles from my hotel.

  We decided on Saddle Ranch Chop House.

  I chose baby back ribs, a specialty of the house.

  I recognized a familiar face. He gave me a hug and took a goofy selfie with me. For those of you from another planet..,it’s Puig.

  The restaurant comes with mechanical bull. It only takes $2 and a waiver, and there you go, I asked Yasiel if he was going to ride and he thought I said that I was going to ride. He’s still working on his English.

  Part of our dinner group was a pitcher just signed by the evil Giants. He made us all feel small.

  This is our dinner group.

  They gave us a giant cotton candy because it took so long to serve our dinner.

  The next day was the game with the Cubbies back at Camelback. It’s a very cool stadium.

  There was Yasiel again.

   

 Cece’s fave Andre.

  With his beautiful swing

  Joc

  Juan

  Darwin and Zack having a conversation. Andre next to them with a mouthful of sunflower seeds as usual.

  The next day was rainy and gloomy. I must have prayed too hard for it not be too hot. Oops.

  By game time it was cool, but nice.

  The sky was gorgeous.

  

I returned to the hotel to find out they had thrown out my leftover baby back ribs. I was appalled. They gave me a takeout menu and told me to order anything on them.

  It was only ok. The Chinese food in LA area is delicious so this Arizona offering was just ok. I covered it with mustard so it was better.

My experience in Camelback was wonderful. I would suggest everyone go at least once in their lifetime. It’s important to make hotel reservations early.

Thanks for stopping by.  I appreciate all of you. 

Leave a Reply

