Say It Isn’t So, Manny

The latest news in Dodgertown is Manny’s announcement that he will not be with the Dodgers in 2011.  His contract is up this year.  The good news is that if he is planning on being a free agent after this season, then he will play good ball or at least try to.  The rumor is that he may retire.  It will free up a large chunk of money, for sure.  He did arrive to ST camp extra early and is working out with everyone else. 

Also news is that the Dodger ticket prices are going up.  Apparently depending on what day you want to go to the game, the price could be a few dollars more.  We season ticket holders already paid for our tickets, so the prices remain the same as last season.  Well, I suppose someone has to pay Mrs. McCourt that $1 million a month for her spa, gym, and clothes.  Too sad.  I hope that the Dodgers still acquire another pitcher.

Reading Jane Heller’s Shefan blog, I found out that Chan Ho Park will be a Yankee.  He has always been a favorite of mine.  He had some bad health issues in the past where he almost died.  Thank goodness he is okay now. 

I was lucky enough to have spoken to him a few times.  He is always funny, always very charming.  He is fan friendly.  He definitely loves the children.  He will play catch during batting practice with any kids with gloves in the stands. One of my friend’s sons was playing catch with Chan Ho when Chan Ho pretended to keep the ball.  Of course, the boy was distressed thinking he had lost the ball.  Chan Ho returned and tossed the ball up to the child.  He had signed the ball.  It said “Follow Your Dream.”  Isn’t that awesome???

The players will have their first real workout today.  I wish I could be there.  However,  I have to work to pay for all these tickets.  Oh well!!! 

My Dad is having some minor surgery on Thursday so that will be the highlight of my week.  The hunt is still on for my little boy cat.  My sister’s white cat is still missing her cousin.  She sits by the water dish or by my Dad’s chair thinking that he will drop out of the sky.  She certainly needs my cat to swipe at as he walks by.  I still hold out hope that a miracle will happen, hopefully before cinco de Mayo when he turns 18 years old.

Thanks everyone for stopping by.  Nice baseball thoughts to all of you. 

10 comments

  1. Jane Heller

    First of all, best wishes to your dad for a successful surgery. Sorry there’s been no progress on Max. And I think you’re right about Manny. If he’s not planning to retire and wants to DH somewhere in 2011, he’d better have a good year in 2010!

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

  2. bklyntrolleyblogger

    I’m hoping by Thursday’s end into Friday morning we’ll all be reading about good news. Everyone is coming out and saying what a cool guy Chan Ho Park is…who knew?
    The latest Manny Scuttlebutt Revision is as follows:
    he wants to play 5 more years…3 with L.A. and two in Japan. I heard that today on radio. I think Manny wants everyone guessing. He gets ridiculed but he’s a very calculating mind.
    http://thebrooklyntrolleyblogger.mlblogs.com/

  3. thinkingblue

    Hey Cat,
    Prayers for your dad and for a speedy recovery after his surgery.
    *
    Chang-ho Park is a great player with lots of respects from fans all over. Wish him with his new team. I attended his Dodger’s bobblehead night about 2 years ago. Love it! Talking about bobble heads, Ethiers bobble head has been previewed….love it and I can not wait for that game…
    *
    CAT take care….oh yeah my son will be playing for the Astros T-ball team so it will be the only time I cheer for the Astros….LOL!

  4. angelsgirl012

    Chan ho Park is really funny! He’s such a big star in Korea that he even was a guest star on this variety show in Korea. It was really funny 😀 I’m a fan of his and so is my family

    well it’s just Manny being….. gahhh that phrase is over used! I’m not saying that anymore lol

    http://mimi.mlblogs.com

Leave a Reply

