Dodgers Win!

Championshipgame188.jpg image by xoxrussell                                                          
Finally, finally I can write that the Dodgers won. 
 
Why did they finally win a game?
 
Championshipgame215.jpg image by xoxrussell
Maybe it was because my friend Marynell was at the game.
Championshipgame149.jpg image by xoxrussell
Maybe it was because of my good luck ball that James Loney had signed for me before the game
Championshipgame063.jpg star wars image by xoxrussell
Or maybe because it was Star Wars night and the Force Was With Us.
 
Whatever it was, it just seemed like it was the night.
 
Championshipgame001.jpg baseline food image by xoxrussell
First of all, the food was fantastic  At the top are the pulled pork sandwiches.  To the left is the salad which included old fashioned cole slaw, cold potato salad, water melon, and Caesar salad.  To the right is a superb roast beef, macaroni and cheese, Louisiana sausage, and corn on the cob. 
I picked the perfect day to sit in the Baseline Club.
Championshipgame012.jpg clayton image by xoxrussell
Twenty-one year old Clayton Kershaw was the starting pitcher.
Championshipgame003.jpg Claytons shoes image by xoxrussell
He had some problems tying his shoes
Championshipgame013.jpg clayton image by xoxrussell
It took a couple of tries.
Championshipgame006.jpg Clayton image by xoxrussell
And then he was good to go.
Championshipgame033.jpg casey image by xoxrussell
Casey Blake and Orlando Hudson had a little discussion before the game.  Possibly they were talking about the fact that St. Louis and Philadephia had both lost.
Championshipgame035.jpg hudson image by xoxrussell
Whatever it was, O Dog had a good laugh.
Championshipgame038.jpg image by xoxrussell
Our fantastic relief pitchers took their walk across the field
Championshipgame039.jpg bullpen image by xoxrussell
They have been outstanding this season
Championshipgame049.jpg matt image by xoxrussell
Matty did a few warmups
Championshipgame060.jpg matt and pierre image by xoxrussell
Juan Pierre started in center field with Matt in right field to give Andre a day off
Championshipgame062.jpg star wars image by xoxrussell
In Our Town were some Star Wars buffs, many wearing Star Wars costumes.  I tried to get a ticket for that section just so I could get a teeshirt for my son but it has been sold out.
Championshipgame067.jpg Russell and Clayton image by xoxrussell
Clayton and Russell took the walk together to the dugout.
Championshipgame068.jpg image by xoxrussell
Clayton dominated with 10 strikeouts, striking out five of the first six Rockies, pitching 6 scoreless innings.  Kuo pitched one scoreless inning, as did Sherrill and finally our closer Broxton.
.

Championshipgame173.jpg image by xoxrussell
Broxton was absolutely stellar.
I can’t say enough about our pitching.
Championshipgame178.jpg image by xoxrussell
The score was 5-0 with the Dodgers absolutely doing everything right.
Championshipgame191.jpg image by xoxrussell
The fact is that we did believe.
Championshipgame207.jpg image by xoxrussell
There was a victory celebration afterwards.  The Dodgers included the fans in the champagne dousing.  Clayton, goggles and all, came runniing out with a bottle of champagne and doused me.  I also got sprayed by Andre who also was soaked with the bubbly.
Championshipgame204.jpg image by xoxrussell
He came into the game later.
Championshipgame206.jpg image by xoxrussell
It was thrilling to be a part of it.  Frank McCourt shook our hands.
Championshipgame214.jpg image by xoxrussell
He thanked all of us for our support
Championshipgame212.jpg image by xoxrussell
Andre and Dreson, his one year old son
Championshipgame213.jpg image by xoxrussell
Don’t you love this picture of our Andre clapping hands with his son?
 
Tomorrow will be the final game of the regular season.  Then the Dodgers will play St Louis at Dodger Stadium Wednesday and Thursday. 
 
The Dodgers have finished the season with the best record in the National League.  Tonight has been a dream.  Now I think I can finally sleep well except for the fact I didn’t get home until after midnight.  It is now almost two o’clock and I am waking up at 6:30AM to get ready for my day.  First I go to church and then I head out again to my beloved Dodger Stadium.
 
I am sitting here typing up this entry, tired and wet with champagne, but happy.  My Dodgers are again the Western Division Champions, for the second time in a row!!  I am so proud of them.
 
Thanks for stopping by.  And may the force be with you.
Championshipgame063.jpg star wars image by xoxrussell
 
A special thanks to wonderful She-Fan for her congratulatory text message.  You rock, Jane.  And also special thanks to my wonderful friends, Jenn, Virginia, Matt Peaslee, Matt Tan, Ted, Buz, Julia, Sue, for their good luck wishes.  IT WORKED. 
 

13 comments

  1. sunshine43

    Dreson and Andre were so cute! I was videoing them from up top. Guess what? My friends left after the game, and they had trouble getting down to the field level. They weren’t letting people down because of the celebration! Guess it was a good thing after all that Nina and I stayed up top. Did Loney use a sharpie to sign your ball? Funny cuz Wolf used a sharpie to sign Julia’s birthday ball. Funnier that he signed right below Brad Ausmus’, who I had just gotten only a few hours earlier. I need to get Andre’s … but not sure how. He’s a hard man to get! I was about to go to bed, but then I realized I forgot to add a few things to my blog. So I got on and added them. Then I was like, hey, I should see if Cat finished hers. Looks like I get to be the first one to comment! Yay! Have fun at the game tomorrow. It’ll be much easier knowing we have the Division and Home Field Advantage.

    Linda
    http://fallingLEAVes02.mlblogscom

  2. southernbelle

    Cat: CONGRADULATIONS!!!! It’s so cute that you were a part of the celebration! Andre and Dreson are adorable. I knew last night would be the night! It was at home, and you and your friend would be there. They just needed you, Cat 🙂 I am so happy for you and my second favorite team, the Dodgers. Good luck in the postseason, Cat. Who knows, our teams may meet….
    -Virginia
    http://southernbelle.mlblogs.com

  3. Buz

    Yes! They’re in!!!! and Home Field Advantage to booot! WooHooooo! Great pics of Andre and Dreson (very cool name) Ethier. Way to go Cat.. you did it… you were “The Force” they needed. Well, you and Kershaw : )

    Buz – http://buzblog.mlblogs.com/

  4. juliasrants

    Congrats Cat – a question – how did Manny play? I was reading an article on MLB.com and Torre was expressing some concern over Manny’s play and the effect that it was having on the team. I hope you guys are finding out about “Manny being Manny” this late in the season. When I was reading it all I could think was “Oh, I know what Torre is thinking!”. Good luck!

    Julia
    http://werbiefitz.mlblogs.com/

  5. devilabrit

    Congrats to the Dodgers on division champions and home field advantage in the NL playoffs….I’m gonna go with the Force was with them…. can’t beat a good star wars connection to win a game….:-)
    ~peter
    Outside the Phillies Looking In
    http://devilabrit.mlblogs.com

  6. sunshine43

    On Friday night, Manny struck out four times! The first couple of at bats on Saturday night, I was glad to see him getting a piece of the ball at least. He did much better on Saturday than he did on Friday. In his first two at-bats, he lined out… but they were hard hit at least. Then he struck out before finally getting a single that scored Furcal.
    Linda
    http://fallingLEAVes02.mlblogs.com

  7. thinkingblue

    CAT…..Dodgers finally did it. Oh man it has been the most busy weekend ever. I DID NOT see the game…..sniff sniff…a wonderful game. But hey they won on my dad’s 60th birthday and also on the day my daughter won her first soccer game. We (all my sisters + family = 20 of us) had decided to take my dad out for his b-day to see the Pirate Show out in Buena Park. My husband kept checking the score on his phone. All I remember 7th inning 5-0 Dodgers…then I will go down the row of family (since we are all dodger Fan’s minus my dad) with the score…so yeah extra cheering in our section. At the end of the show the game ended aswell….so GOOOOOO DODGERS! Now here comes the part that drags…at least it is not a week wait, but just a couple of days. And oh yeah….THE PICTURE OF ANDRE WITH HIS LIL’ BOY IS BEAUTIFUL…the best picture of the regular season….LOL! Will you be attending play off games?
    *
    Rosie

  8. Jane Heller

    Well, I see you weren’t too nervous to eat at that game, Cat. HAHAHA! I wouldn’t have passed up that great food for anything. So glad everything worked out and you got to be part of the celebration. And why not? You’ve been at every game, cheering the Dodgers on, so you earned the victory too!

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

Leave a Reply

