A Good Reason to Cheer Up

Go to fullsize image

The Cat has been cheered up.

There were a few things to be happy about starting with the resounding victory over the Cubs 7-2 last night after the heartbreaking loss to the cubs the night before. 

The evening started on a pleasant note when Eddie came over to my seat to say hi..  Unfortunately he wasn’t sitting next to me.  I was excited to see him.  There are very rare times when you meet someone and get a very good feeling right away.  Eddie is one such person.  He has such a personality and a warmth that you are in awe. 

cubsvictory057.jpg image by xoxrussell
That’s Eddie in the green shirt.  I didn’t want to take a full on picture of him without his permission.  He is very low key.
Another person who affected me this way is our fellow blogger Jane Heller.  She is so full of energy and a very delightful person.
Many people have said the same thing about my Dad who is 88 years old.  But that is another story.
cubsvictory056.jpg image by xoxrussell
This is beautiful Dodger Stadium from my seat before a game. 
cubsvictory004.jpg image by xoxrussell
There was batting practice.   Randy Wolf is on the right
cubsvictory001.jpg image by xoxrussell
Too bad Linda wasn’t out there with her wolf hat
cubsvictory003.jpg image by xoxrussell
Doesn’t the bullpen look interested in catching some balls?
cubsvictory002.jpg image by xoxrussell
That’s Mota in the front with Broxton to his left.  They seem to hang out together.  And that’s one of the coaches on the phone. 
cubsvictory015.jpg image by xoxrussell
Our starting pitcher last night was Jeff Weaver, brother of the Angels Jered Weaver.  He has been a “utility” pitcher fitting in here and there, mainly as a long reliever.  He has truly been amazing having a very solid game last night. 
cubsvictory032.jpg image by xoxrussell
He was out on the field warming up
cubsvictory021.jpg image by xoxrussell
He has been a wonderful comeback story
cubsvictory033.jpg image by xoxrussell
He has let it be known that he appreciates the Dodgers giviing him another chance in the majors.
cubsvictory043.jpg image by xoxrussell
My favorite pictures are those of the Dodgers warming up on the field.  These are pictures that most fans don’t get to see.  Matt usually lets a trainer stretch him out.
cubsvictory037.jpg image by xoxrussell
He really gets stretched
cubsvictory048.jpg image by xoxrussell
Matt playing with his bat
cubsvictory013.jpg image by xoxrussell
Andre stretching out on his own
cubsvictory010.jpg image by xoxrussell
Andre is very flexible
cubsvictory016.jpg image by xoxrussell
Russell came out finally with all his gear.  Little did he know what would happen later in the game.
cubsvictory023.jpg image by xoxrussell
He did a few exercises
cubsvictory036.jpg image by xoxrussell
Then he put on his gear and practiced his throwing.  Yes, Russell, practice that throwing.
cubsvictory034.jpg image by xoxrussell
And practice more
cubsvictory047.jpg image by xoxrussell
The bullpen made their way across the field with Kuo, Broxton, and Belisario in the rear.  He has been good since coming back from DL  I have never seen him wear a jacket.
cubsvictory046.jpg image by xoxrussell
A wider angle view of the bullpen.  Watching them cross the field always gets me excited.
cubsvictory039.jpg image by xoxrussell
Casey Blake was warming up
cubsvictory035.jpg image by xoxrussell
Orlando Hudson stretching.  He and Casey are usually a little further away from where I sit.
cubsvictory053.jpg image by xoxrussell
Matty signing autographs.  He seemed to be in good spirits, feeling better after a bout of the flu  I had talked to him the day before he was sick.  In fact he was so close to me he patted me on the back.  Wouldn’t it be strange if I caught the flu from him?? Uh,  yes Doc, I caught the flu from Matty Kemp, the Dodger  Oh yeah, right..
cubsvictory054.jpg image by xoxrussell
Jeff Weaver and Russell making their way to the dugout
 
cubsvictory073.jpg image by xoxrussell
Jeff Weaver on the pitchers mound.  He only allowed 2 runs, 5 hits in 5 1/3 innings.
cubsvictory134.jpg image by xoxrussell
He has been invaluable to the Dodgers in light of all the injuries.
cubsvictory184.jpg image by xoxrussell
Casey Blake on the left and James Loney
cubsvictory127.jpg image by xoxrussell
A difficult to get photo of Orlando Hudson and Andre Ethier capless as they head out to the field
cubsvictory230.jpg Conferring with Mota image by xoxrussell
Our catcher Russell Martin and Guillermo Mota.  Notice the height difference?
cubsvictory235.jpg Russell catching image by xoxrussell
Russell doing what he does best…..catching
cubsvictory200.jpg Juan image by xoxrussell
I thought I would throw in a picture of Juan that I took last night
cubsvictory194.jpg fixing those pants image by xoxrussell
Manny in the front and Matty in the background fixing those pesky pants legs
cubsvictory191.jpg checking the do image by xoxrussell
Have to fix the do
cubsvictory144.jpg image by xoxrussell
And those pant legs…all that static!!
cubsvictory198.jpg staying limber image by xoxrussell
Stretching between plays
cubsvictory199.jpg stretching image by xoxrussell
There are so many fans in the stands with the same hair and bandana over their heads!  The stadium is full of Manny look a likes.  During the game there is constantly someone yelling out to him.  He waves frequently and talks to us fans.  Yesterday he actually blew me kisses.
Yikes.  First a ball and now kisses.
cubsvictory159.jpg image by xoxrussell
Conference during a pitching change
cubsvictory132.jpg image by xoxrussell
Andre on second base
cubsvictory089.jpg image by xoxrussell
Another picture of Andre on base
.

cubsvictory087.jpg image by xoxrussell
Manny on first base
Everyone seemed to be on base last night.  The hero of the game was Russell Martin who hit a grand slam homerun, his second in his career, fourth homerun this season;  What was interesting was that the Cubs walked James Loney which loaded up the bases.  So there Cubs, watch who you walk and who you think will strike out
.

cubsvictory185.jpg russell running in after grand slam image by xoxrussell
Russell running home.  GO RUSSELL!!  Pie in their faces.  Russell got a curtain call and came out and tipped his cap.  I am in fear that Russell read my blog and felt that he was kicked in the rump with my comments.  Well, if it did some good, Yaaaaay.  He knows about my blog so maybe it helped motivate him.  In fact Matt knows about my blog.  .
 
I try to end my blogs with a few pictures of Andre especially for Ethieraholics Nellyjune, Rosie and Virginia (in no special order).  I don’t want to disappoint you so here are some new ones.
cubsvictory245.jpg at attention image by xoxrussell
Waiting patiently for the ball
cubsvictory253.jpg Andre checking nails image by xoxrussell
This inning is so long I know my nails are growing
cubsvictory251.jpg Andre looking at glove image by xoxrussell
Nails on the other hand are growing too.  When will this inning end??
cubsvictory244.jpg nail chewing time image by xoxrussell
Okay, I have to take action.  They need some attention
cubsvictory252.jpg Andre with gigantic bubble image by xoxrussell
Maybe I’ll blow a little bubble.  No one will notice
cubsvictory250.jpg Andre with an even bigger bubble image by xoxrussell
Wow, that one really got away from me, hope it doesn’t end up all over my face!!!
 
Tonight we take on the Cubs for the second of four games.  Pitching tonight is Randy Wolf.  I imagine Linda will be there since he is her favorite pitcher.
Update on Kuroda-san:  he played catch for the first time yesterday.  He still has intermittent headaches but has not lost his sense of humor.  He was telling jokes and had some folks rolling on the floor but only if you understand Japanese.  He will undergo some more neurological exams.  I suppose people cannot believe he would get hit so hard in the head and come out of it with some headaches.  It may be the Japanese stoicism.
Thanks everyone for all your support.  I think I was overtired and overwraught with despair.  I am much better. I am taking one day at a time.
 
Thanks for stoppiing by and have a wonderful baseball filled day..
 
.
 
 
 
.
.
 

9 comments

  1. thinkingblue

    CAT – Like always great pictures. Ethier always looks good. Love the Martin pictures and now I am HAPPY. I specially love the one when he is greeted by MANNY, LONEY & BLAKE after his GS. GOOOO MARTIN. I hope he keeps his momentum and keeps doing great on the games. Once MARTIN hit his GS the won felt secure. It was just up to the pitchers to make sure the Cubs don’t catch up. And our PITCHERS did a wonderful job. I’ve never noticed that MARTIN is not that tall. Still love him! LOL! And if he is reading your blog…MARTIN YOU ARE DOING A GREAT JOB. I AM NOT MAD AT YOU ANYMORE. THANKS FOR THE GS. LOL!

  2. matttan7

    Awesome stuff, Cat. I first thought I was reading a comic book first with those captions of those photographs. The Cardinals are sure a tough team but I think the Dodgers are better than them. I sure enjoy looking at your photos of Dodger Stadium. My first stop in California, if I do plan to go there is Dodger Stadium. Go Dodger blue!

    Matthew Tan
    http://matt7.mlblogs.com/

  3. southernbelle

    Cat: I’m glad you enjoyed my cutie list. I know at least 1 Dodger who will be on the NL West list! (take a guess..)
    I think Manny has a thing for you. First the ball, and then kisses! Careful Cat! jk. And thanks for those Andre pics. I love him a little more each day. I feel like I know him thanks to your blog, Cat. Andre stretches by himself. Aw. If I was a trainer for the Dodgers, I would help Andre stretch….(sigh)…..Alrighty then -Virginia
    http://southernbelle.mlblogs.com

  4. Jane Heller

    Wow. I’m honored to be mentioned in the same blog post as your dad, Cat! Many thanks. And I got a kick out of you and Manny. First, the baseball. Now, a kiss? Hmm. Intrigue. Haha. Congrats on beating the Cubs and here’s hoping the Dodgers do it again tonight!

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

  5. heartruss

    Jane, I was happy to have met you.
    Virginia, Andre is very lovablle
    Rosie I hope Russell reads this blog today and sees your words of encouragement
    Matt, I sometimes feel like I’m writing for a comic book. The guys are so funny

  6. raysfanboy

    I agree with you on Weaver being a great come back story. He and Washburn in Detroit will probably get comeback player of the year. Both of those guys were off the map coming into this year. And look at how well they’ve done now. Both are deserving of consideration.

    YOu are relaly taking it to my Cubbies. Those guys are trying to get into the wild card talk and you take ’em down easily. Ouch.
    http://raysfanboy.mlblogs.com

Leave a Reply

