We Lost But Still a Good Day

Go to fullsize image

It’s been a long day, I may be half asleep at my laptop but I have to be thankful for many things although the Dodgers did lose to the Cardinals 3-2.

First of all, I feel that we are blessed that Kuroda-san is okay.  He will miss his start Thursday because he still has a headache and feels slightly dizzy.  I feel bad for David Wright of the Mets who is on DL because of getting hit by a pitch. Kuroda-san is day to day.  What a tough guy.

We debuted a new pitcher called up from Albuquerque, Charlie Haeger a knuckleball pitcher.  He was fantastic  Supposedly he would have been able to throw more pitches since there is not as much force with a knuckeball.  In fact, Joe was asked if Charlie might take Kuroda-san’s place on Thursday..

Charliesdebut050.jpg

Charliesdebut074.jpg Charlie image by xoxrussell

Here is Charlie throwing a knuckleball.

Oh, I almost forgot, before I sat down I did get my food from the Baseline Club.

Charliesdebut005.jpg image by xoxrussell

The salad including chopped iceberg salad, Caesar salad, and pasta salad

Charliesdebut004.jpg image by xoxrussell

garlic rubbed tri-tip with horseradish sauce, chicken medallions, jasmine rice, bistro vegetables (green beans, asparagus, red bell peppers)

The food was exquisite.  I liked it so much that I took some more to my seat.

Charliesdebut102.jpg Food at the seat image by xoxrussell

I usually just take ice cream to my seat but the food was just so delicious I couldn’t resist. 

My baseline seat was on the even side which is on the opposite side of the stadium.  I decided it was actually a nice place to sit because…..

Charliesdebut093.jpg Andre at the rail image by xoxrussell

This is what I see across from me…Andre watching the game from the rail.  Nice view.

Charliesdebut064.jpg Andre image by xoxrussell

Another shot of Andre

He is definitely a rail dweller.

Before the game I was able to talk to Andre.  I just said hello and he gave me that smile and said “How’s it going?” as he does when he sees me. 

 

Charliesdebut022.jpg image by xoxrussell

 Virginia, he is so awesome.  Take a look at the pictures I’m posting that I took tonight.  Now, this is closeup.

Charliesdebut015-1.jpg image by xoxrussell
Another Andre smile
 
I spoke to Matty Kemp too.  He was in a rush but still stopped to sign autographs.  I just wanted to say hi.  He smiled at me and patted me on the shoulder and said hi. 
Charliesdebut039.jpg Matt image by xoxrussell
Matty with that hundred dollar smile
 
James was out on the field doing his calisthenics.
Charliesdebut045.jpg James image by xoxrussell
What a look.
Charliesdebut011.jpg image by xoxrussell
Brad Ausmus took Russell’s place to catch those knucke balls with an extra wide glove.  He did a great job catching.
 
Charliesdebut028.jpg James and Matty image by xoxrussell
When the bullpen walked by, it looked like James McDonald stopped and tickled Matty.
 
Charliesdebut152.jpg Pierre image by xoxrussell
This is Juan Pierre who was pinch hitting
Charliesdebut148.jpg Pierre image by xoxrussell
Another view of Pierre, oooops.
Charliesdebut163.jpg O Dog image by xoxrussell
this is Orlando Hudson our second base.  He is a golden glover.  He is all over the place.  He covers frist, right center left fields.  Or at least it seems like he does.
Charliesdebut188.jpg Manny image by xoxrussell
this is that guy called Manny who has a section of the seats named for him…Mannywood.
Charliesdebut189.jpg Casey image by xoxrussell
This is Casey Blake our third baseman. 
Charliesdebut079.jpg Furcal image by xoxrussell
Our shortstop Raffy Furcal who also is the shortest on our team at 5’9″
Charliesdebut101.jpg Charlie image by xoxrussell
Another pic of Charlie
Charliesdebut066.jpg image by xoxrussell
I love this picture of Brad Ausmus
 
Andre totally confused me tonight.  Instead of chewing gum and blowing bubbles, he had a chipmunk look to him with a moutfhful of sunflower seeds.
Charliesdebut071.jpg Andre mouth full image by xoxrussell
He kept pulling a small bag of sunflower seeds from his back pocket and filled his mouth with the seeds.
Charliesdebut073.jpg Andre eating image by xoxrussell
He must not have eaten dinner cuz he ate sunfloower seeds during the entire game.
Charliesdebut153.jpg Matt and Andre image by xoxrussell
Matty and Andre playing catch between innings
Charliesdebut183.jpg Andre waiting image by xoxrussell
Waiting
Charliesdebut136.jpg Andre going home image by xoxrussell
Time to go home.
 
The Cardinals have a very talented team.  I expected Albert Pujols to hit at least one homerun.  That’s pretty much what he does to everyone. And their pitcher Carpenter pitched a great game.  It was a fun game to watch even though we lost.
I kept thinking how happy I was that Kuroda is healthy.  It could have been much worse.  So today, win or lose, it was okay.  
 
Thanks for stopping by.
Go to fullsize image
 
 

20 comments

  1. trublu4ever

    Awesoe pictures, Cat. Makes me feel like I was at the game! And, what can I say other than Andre is the best!!!!

  2. matttan7

    Great post, Cat. The food is making me a bit hungry now. Speaking of Dodger caps, I plan on getting more. It’s a good thing that you don’t dwell so much on a loss once everything else turns out great.

    Matthew Tan
    http://matt7.mlblogs.com/

  3. thinkingblue

    CAT
    Love your pictures. And yes we should be very thankful that Kuroda is doing well. It sucks that we lost yesterday’s game. The knuckleball was something different but I do think that after awhile the batters were able to figure it out. Balls were getting hit, and that’s not good. I say use the knuckleball, but not for majority of the time.
    *
    Well I hope our boys do great tonight and take game 2 of the series. Well actually I hope they win this series against the Cardinals. GOOOO DODGERS!

  4. raysrenegade

    Cat,
    I have to say, I like your food better than my pressed Cuban and a Dr Pepper.
    The tri-tip looked amazing, and if they made a Ceasar salad here, I would be there 81 games a year.
    Isn’t it great to feel drained and exhausted after a win. Makes you feel so alive at times, but also reminds you of how much energy and emotion you have wrapped up in this great game.

    Rays Renegade

    http://raysrenegade.mlblogs.com

  5. heartruss

    I go home after the games and feel like I was playing. It is exhausting. I want to try a pressed Cuban. What is that like? The Caesar salad at Dodger Stadium is the best I’ve ever had with huge slices of cheese!!

  6. thinkingblue

    CAT,
    Mr. Kemp is a music video star…LOL. COLLIE over at ITD posted a link to the video. It is hip hot but he does come out towards the end of the video. Go check it out

  7. thinkingblue

    NOoooo it was sold out! ENJOY the game! I keep seeing the bobble head video over & over. It is cute & funny. Love it!

  8. heartruss

    Thanks Fenway Bleacher Creature. I hope so.
    Hey Rosie, are you coming tomorrow for Matt Kemp bobblehead doll?
    Julia, I’ve heard of knuckeballs but this is the first time I’ve seen it in person. Haeger did a great job.

  9. southernbelle

    Cat: OMG Andre is adorable. “How’s it going?” How cute is that! I like the “chipmunk” look for Andre. That’s pretty cute. For my birthday, I got the baseball video game MLB 2K9, and I made myself a team. I did a draft, and guess who the first player I drafted was? Andre! When I do a draft, I try to avoid drafting Yankees. I like getting other players from different teams. So Andre plays right field on my drafted dream team! He is a cutie!
    Cat, your pics are amazing! They should be used for baseball cards, especially that one of Ausmus. -Virginia
    http://southernbelle.mlblogs.com

  10. heartruss

    Thanks Virginia. I wish you could see Andre in person. He is even better looking in the flesh. He also is very sweet. I’m glad you picked him for your team. Good choice.

Leave a Reply

