The Way Things Work Out

Everyone who reads my blog knows that I couldn’t believe the victory on Thursday night.  I was sure we would lose but the Dodgers won with Andre’s walk off homerun.

Last night I thought we would win but Broxton blew the save and the Dodgers lost in 12 innings.  I wasn’t upset. I wasn’t sad.  I was just tired.  I got home after 11pm last night.

The evening started out with batting practice as usual.  The Braves were out in the field.  I recognized a familiar face:  Derek Lowe, a former Dodger who was given a contract by the Braves.  I thought about how funny he looked in another uniform.  He went over to the stands and talked to Roni and Rosa, two fans who had a nice relationship with him.  Later on he caught a bp ball and looked over to the stands.  He saw me and tossed the ball in my direction.  He recognized me..  As most people know, I was hit by a ball and am a bit scared of the ball now.  An Angels fan caught it for me and handed it to me.  Thank you Angels fan and thank you D Lowe.  Our pitching certainly could use you. 

DerekLowe001.jpg Derek Lowe ball image by xoxrussell
Here is the batting practice ball with grass stains and Dodger dirt on it
 
Anotherloss002.jpg image by xoxrussell
a smiling Derek Lowe
 
Anotherloss008.jpg image by xoxrussell
Starting pitcher Chad Billingsley was out on the field throwing the ball
 
Anotherloss040.jpg image by xoxrussell
Matt also was out on the field tossing the ball, working out and stretching
 
Anotherloss019.jpg image by xoxrussell
Russell Martin our catcher ran out on the field with all his gear to throw a few balls
 
Anotherloss020.jpg image by xoxrussell
A closeup of Russell
 
Anotherloss049.jpg image by xoxrussell
Matt Kemp signing autographs prior to the game
 
Anotherloss053.jpg James Loney image by xoxrussell
James Loney our first baseman always looking serious
 
Anotherloss034.jpg image by xoxrussell
Our bullpen always walks from the dugout across the field to their little enclosed area.  They always look intimidating.
Anotherloss036.jpg image by xoxrussell
Haha, especially our old guy Jeff Weaver, older brother of Jered Weaver of the Angels.  He always carries his cup with him.  Don’t want to get dehydrated on the way to the bullpen
 
Anotherloss075.jpg Ernie my usher image by xoxrussell
This is my usher Ernie who always stops by and asks if everything is okay.  Ever since I had that problem with drunk neighbors, he is even more attentive.  The girl sitting next to me asked me if Ernie was my husband.  I started to laugh and told her not to ask his wife that question.
 
Anotherloss063.jpg James and Matt shake hands image by xoxrussell
Matty and James shook hands before the game
 
As I said before the game I thought should have been a Dodger victory.  We went into the 9th inning 5-4 and Broxton should have saved the game.  Didn’t happen.  We went into extra innings.
By then, we were all tired.  It was Friday, Fiireworks night.  We were ready to see the fireworks and go home.
Anotherloss116.jpg image by xoxrussell
It seemed there was always some discussion going on.  Here is James, Furcal and Blake.
 
Anotherloss128.jpg image by xoxrussell
Manny was getting a little tired of standing
 
Anotherloss120.jpg image by xoxrussell
More discussion with Andre biting his nails and Matty doing a lot of gesturing
 
Anotherloss147.jpg image by xoxrussell
I think my nails have even grown since the game started
 
Anotherloss151.jpg image by xoxrussell
We had another incident of stupid person running on the field.  I keep telling everyone that Juan and company will get you and take you away, banished from the kingdom.
Anotherloss152.jpg image by xoxrussell
This is the second time this week.  The fans find it entertaining but I think it’s very disrupting for the pitchers.
Anotherloss154.jpg image by xoxrussell
This not smart person thought he could run around and I think that makes security even more angry.  Not smart.
 
 

Anotherloss195.jpg James at work image by xoxrussell
I have to say that our relief pitcher James McDonald did a great job.  He is the boyfriend of my friend’s best friend.  Got that?  He also went to my high school, Long Beach Polytechnic High School which is more known for their varsity football team.
 
I stayed to the very end of the game.  The Dodgers never give up.  There were many chances but last nightt the Dodgers could not cash any of them in.
 
Tonight they play the Braves again.  I hope for a Dodgers win, of course.  This week has beeen a strange week.  Two more games and they go away again and I go to work.  My life at Dodger Stadium brings so much fun, excitement and joy.  I can deal with my other life much better knowing that I have my Dodgers to look forward to.  I know many of you feel the same way about your team.
 
Thanks again everyone for reading my blog, I love reading your responses.  Everyone have a great day and I hope your team wins big.  (unless you are a Braves fan, that is.)
 
Go to fullsize image
 
 

6 comments

  1. welikeroywelikeroy

    I felt ‘very bad’ for James MacDonald at the beginning of year when he cracked the Dodgers rotation, but had large control problems out the gate. You could just tell that the adreniline was flowing a little too much for him in those starts. A young guy, so I’m glad that didn’t ruin his confidence.

    Good to see that he doing well in the pen now.
    http://homerfoodandhistory.mlblogs.com/

  2. Jane Heller

    So sorry the Dodgers lost in extras after that great win the night before. Darn! I hope for better things today – and that you got a decent night’s sleep so you can be ready for the action! Always look forward to your posts and pics.

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

  3. southernbelle

    Cat: There were a lot of extra inning games last night! I’m sorry yours didn’t turn out right. Mine sure did, but it took them long enough! Right now, it’s the 9th and the Yanks are up 5-0. If they hold on today and win tomorrow, they would sweep! That would be something. I hope your Dodgers bounce back with a victory. Tell Andre to stay cute! (jk) -Virginia
    http://southernbelle.mlblogs.com

  4. thinkingblue

    CAT,
    Love your pictures, like always…specially the close up of Martin. Too many people running in the field, what’s up with that? They did mentioned it on tv but was not shown. We can hear the crows reaction and Vin’s explaination of why they will not show it. It was a long game with not happy ending. I was mad & tired. Mad cause Broxton just blew a win. But hey, life goes on. Hopefully they win tonight…HAVE FUN AT THE GAME TONIGHT AND CAREFULL WITH THE FLYING BALLS!

  5. teemo

    Came across your blog this past weekend and enjoyed it. Checking it out everyday. Love your perspective on things and your passion for the Dodgers Blue – My son is slowly starting to get into baseball and out here in Hawaii we pretty much only get Dodger and Angels games. At least he likes the Dodgers more than the Angels. Maybe if he continues to watch the games and read your blog you will convert him into a Dodgers fan too (Unfortunately he watched a lot of the Braves series last weekend) – Keep up the good work – Todd

Leave a Reply

