Matt’s Day

OaklandAsGame041.jpg Matty at bat image by xoxrussell
I asked my 88 year old Dad what I should call today’s entry and he said Matt’s Day.  It was indeed Matt’s Day yesterday.  He scored all four runs, hitting the tie breaking homerun with two outs in the eighth inning in true Dodger fashion.
 
So Matt’s Day started out hot hot hot.  Sunday games are considered kid’s day with Webkins stuffed animal giveaways and children related activities. Sundays are also those hated day games.  Yesterday was the debut of the Junior Dodger Dance Company.  They performed a nice routine before the game.  Very cute and a nice touch on kids day. 
My wonderful usher Ernie showed me a spot in the shade since he knows I melt in the sun.  Poor Ernie had to go up and down the aisles showing people their seats, standing in the front between innings for crowd control, and still did his usual passing out napkins, throwing out trash, and just talking to the fans.  About the time I thought I was going to pass out from the heat, he brought me a huge cup of ice water.  I can’t believe that he could tell that I was starting to feel a bit dehydrated. 
FinalAstrosGame014.jpg image by xoxrussell
Here is a picture of my guy Ernie telling someone from the loge section above us to quit throwing stuff down to the Field section.  What an awesome usher!
FinalAstrosGame002.jpg image by xoxrussell
Before the game Mota was throwing a few pitches and warming up.  There was no batting practice which is usually the case on Sundays  It was a bit hot anyway to be out any longer than necessary. 
FinalAstrosGame003.jpg image by xoxrussell
Kuroda was the SP today.  He had a shaky game allowing 3 runs but it could have been worse.  Joe took him out before too much damage could be done.
There were a couple of frightening moments during the game.  Orlando Hudson was taken out when he hyperextended his surgically repaired left wrist.  He is day to day so at least he is not on the DL.  He is our Golden Glove second baseman.  He had been in a slump but now is hitting well.
Andre had a bad moment when something happened when he was up to bat.  He was suddenly down on the ground.
FinalAstrosGame015.jpg image by xoxrussell
He went down on his knees which set off an alarm in my head. 
FinalAstrosGame018.jpg image by xoxrussell
Then he was on his back with the trainer talking to him.  He was having some major pain in his leg.
FinalAstrosGame019.jpg image by xoxrussell
By this time I was almost beside myself.  I can’t stand the thought of Andre being hurt as I know you Ethieraholics feel the same way.
FinalAstrosGame020.jpg image by xoxrussell
But Andre being Andre, he got up and finished his at bat and completed the game.  He said that he was okay.  I was relieved to say the least.
The game was won by Ausmus and Matty literally.  They were instrumental in scoring all the runs. Ausmus hit two doubles which is a fete in itself since Russell rarely takes a day off.  Maybe Ausmus should also be a pinch hitter.    Mota and Troncoso had great outings in relief.  Matty scored that huge homerun in the eighth and that made the score 4-3.  Then our closer Broxton came out to tie up loose ends.  Broxton has had issues with his big toe and has had to have steroid injections in that toe.  Ouch.  His last few outings have been nailbiting, but yesterday he was Jonathan Broxton again.  One two three.  He has been a powerhouse closer.  Matty calls him Big Boy.  Appropriate.
A couple of interestng notes.  Todays SP will be Jason Schmidt.  He has been on DL for two seasons.  He has been okay on his minor league rehab assignment.  So with our pitchers having problems, Joe has decided to activate Schmidt and see what happens.  I have hopes that he will do well.  Also Kuo feels that he is ready to be activated.   Kuo is a personal favorite of mine.  He does have the most brittle elbow in all of baseball, but the guy has spirit.  He was super when he was healthy.  I have my fingers crosssed that we will see him soon.
FinalAstrosGame037.jpg image by xoxrussell
I have to say again that Matty did it all yesterday.   He did finish up the game a bit dirty.  He actually has the Juan Pierre look.  I don’t think Juan can ever finish up a game clean.  I call him Pig Pen.  
At the beginning of the ninth inning when Matty went out to center field, the Dodger fans stood up and cheered him.  I am so proud of how much he has matured.  Most sportwriters agree that he is the Dodger with the most athletic ability.  I agree.  Yesterday it certainly was Matty’s Day.  

11 comments

  1. thinkingblue

    CAT,
    IT sound that you are better….GOOOO CAT!. Ernie deserves USHER OF THE YEAR! MATTY is HOT HOT HOT! HOT Outfielder, HOT Batter & HOT Looking! I do hope Hudson gets better A.S.A.P. cause he was also getting HOT. Ethier is a tough boy and I am glad he tough it out. Hope his knee (or so) injury is not serious. My reaction when I’ve seen him go down…”FIRST HUDSON…AND NOW ETHIER….NOT MY ANDREEEEEEEE”. It was a scary moment. Ausmus was HOT yesterday, but playing against your old team sure burns you up. Those throw to 2nd well a bit off but we still won. GOOO DODGERS!

  2. thinkingblue

    CAT,
    Andre is very photogenic. The time I had him very close (photo day at Dodger’s Stadium) I went paparazzi on him. He is a very Fan Friendly Dodger. Appreciates all we do for him. And if you ask him to stop and take a pic…he will. And I am glad he is doing fine. But their is a big chance he might seat for this game. KEEP TAKING THOSE PICS…I LOVE TO CHECK THEM OUT!

  3. matttan7

    Andre Ethier’s injury was scary, glad to see him alright now. Matt Kemp’s 4 run day was awesome. His two run home run was the best. I hope he continues. The sun shines at Dodger Stadium very well.

    Matthew T.
    http://matt7.mlblogs.com/

  4. raysfanboy

    I am a HUGE Matt Kemp fan. I wish he was an All Star this year.

    Uh oh, the injury bug might be paying a visit to Dodger-town. That would be the last thing you guys need as you are fending off the Giants and fighting for the best record in the NL. Manny and Schmidt come back, Andre gets rattled and Hud gets hurt. Things are tightening up, eh?
    http://raysfanboy.mlblogs.com

  5. heartruss

    Raysfan
    O Dog is a real team player. He wants to come back and play. Apparently his wrist is always a little sore. I fractured my right wrist in 1987 and it still feels numb. He will probably come back soon.
    Andre never stays out long. He didn’t even miss a game. What a scare for us Ethieraholics!

  6. bluenosedodger

    Cat, sorry to learn about your incident at Dodger Stadium. Glad that is over and done with. I have been having trouble getting on your blog. I get a firewall message every time indicating some application has changed. I don’t understand it and it scares me a bit.

    Here is a link to a story in SI about defense and indicates Matt is now the third most effective CF player in MLB. He has learned the position quickly.

    http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2009/writers/ben_reiter/07/21/dodgers.defense/1.html

    GO DODGERS!!

  7. bluenosedodger

    Notice my new handle Cat – bluenosedodger. The Bluenose was the undefeated international racing schooner from Lunenburg in the twenties and thirties.

    Harold

    GO DODGERS!!

Leave a Reply

