A Hot But Wonderful Day

I never look forward to day games since it seems that they fall on the hottest days.  I was prepared for the worst.  Armed with a liter bottle of water, sunscreen and Dodger cap, I made my way to my seat in the sun.  I was rewarded with an autograph by one of our relief pitchers, Ramon Troncoso.  He has been terrific.

WinningtheSeries024.jpg Ramon image by xoxrussell
Here is Ramon
WinningtheSeries026.jpg Ramon ball image by xoxrussell

The Troncoso Ball

The Dodgers were out there doing their stretching as they usually do before a game.

WinningtheSeries040.jpg Matty stretching image by xoxrussell

Matty getting stretched.  It looks like torture.  Notice the cap over his face.

WinningtheSeries042.jpg Andre image by xoxrussell

Andre doing windmills

I decided I was getting a little too hot so I found my usher Ernie to help me find a spot in the shade.  I ended up sitting next to the Mattell Childrens Camp and a group of seniors from a senior center.  I was pleasantly surprised to find that Dodger Legend Bobby Castillo’s mom was in the group  What a nice lady!  Very charming.l

Here is a picture of Bobby and his mom  WinningtheSeries086.jpg Bobby Castillo and mom image by xoxrussell

WinningtheSeries013.jpg image by xoxrussell

Then the game started.  The players signed autographs on the field for some chiildren as they usually do when “children take the field.”

The game was again a pitchers duel.  The Rockies have outstanding starting pitchers.  Clayton did a great job but had problems with high pitch count.  So Joe went to the bullpen.  The combination Bellisario, Troncoso and Broxton are right on.

I noticed that MLB.com has started using my terminology of different “heroes” for each game.  I give the hero title this game to Raffy Furcal who had the RBI base hit which brought Russell, playing pinch runner for Ausmus, in for the game winning run.

So in case Matty forgot how many outs in the 9th inning

WinningtheSeries118.jpg Andre image by xoxrussell

Andre, tell him how many outs.

It was a sweet win.  The Dodgers won the series against the Rockies.  The Rockies are the hottest MLB team with their reputation for winning streaks.  Now the Dodgers have Thursday off.  Manny returns to the Dodgers on Friday against San Diego.  Some of my friends will make the trek to San Diego.  Apparently according to Kaybee, it will be a sellout in San Diego.  I can’t wait until the Dodgers return again to Dodger Stadium.  I already miss them.:

.

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

